We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel--average room”
Review of Hotel Hofn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hofn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent a night at the Hotel Hofn on our drive along the South coast. The hotel is on the outskirts of Hofn with a great view of the mountains and the glacier. The main building is new with a contemporary design. Alas we were in the annex across the road. Our room was clean but pretty ordinary. The TV was one of the smallest we have ever seen in a hotel. The curtains were hung away from the wall so lots of light came into the room--an odd design flaw given the short summer nights. The staff was very friendly and helped us plan our next day's drive. Given the limited choices this is a good place to stop in Hofn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 516 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for one night only at this hotel after leaving Vik. The hotel has the most amazing views of the glaciers. The room was small on the second floor. We had no issues with the stairs. This was our third hotel since we arrived in Iceland and we discovered that they all had the same problems. The pillows! Other than that, the room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast buffet was disappointing. However, we had a great dinner at their Ossin restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovemytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were in the annexe which was clean and very comfortble. Staff were very helpful on arrival. Did not eat dinner in the hotel but breakfast was good and the staff were efficient, clearing tables and replensihing buffet quickly. Beautiful views from location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gearran_clacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nordic Visitor mad all our hotel reservations for a private 2-week trip around Iceland. There were 5 tour buses in the parking lot! Our room overlooked the parking lot and was very very small (no place to open a suitcase!) but clean and modern. Since it was only 15:00, we asked for a room change but the reception was very unhelpful. Luckily we went out to have a dinner at Hummarfreudin, because the dinning room was crowded and noisy. The same scene at breakfast: long cafeteria-style tables, some covered with dirty dishes and food leftovers...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose_Inger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a part of the iceland complete tour, our room was on the second floor however there's no elevator so you have to carry your luggage up the stairs yourself. I shared the room with 2 friends, the hotel provided us with a rollaway bed however was placed in the middle of the room! Nevermind the room wasn't that big anyway!
Free wifi around the hotel site. Breakfast is served in the main building however lacks variety.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a great room - lots of space, tea tray and all very clean. Our room 211 had stunning views back to the ice cap and glaciers. There was a lounge area on way up to our floor - looking out to the same views, but the windows were really dirty and spoilt the first impression.
The bathroom was quite small and the shower of such a design that although you could see they had tried hard to keep it clean, some dirt is building up and it really needs replacing. Toiletries provided. All the staff here were very friendly.
The restaurant prices were really high here (and place stank of fish, which I don;t eat) so we ate out at Kaffi Hornid. See sep review. On return, hotel restaurant was packed, so must be doing something right. Lovely walk around the sea shote outside the hotel as sun went down with great sunset over the glaciers.
Breakfast quite good next morning, with bacon (rare in our experience travelling right around Iceland), and lovely little handmade biscuits.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We are on a one month Iceland tour, having been here two years ago for two weeks. All our arrangements were made by Nordic Visitor as part of a self drive tour, so, we don't know the specific prices for accommodation. Nordic Visitor, in their tour packages offer three types of accommodation and we booked comfort accommodation (private bathroom, "nice" hotels & guesthouses), breakfast is always included. This will be one of many reviews for this trip.

This was the beginning of our last week in Iceland. I had no idea what to expect and was pleased with this location. This hotel is about 45 years old but doesn't look it. It has been well maintained, has a great view of the bay, rooms are smallish but all we need is a bed (we were luckily upgraded to a larger room without asking, but, on check out I had a look through open doors of the standard rooms). Breakfast was good and generous. Staff were friendly. One word of caution, there is no elevator (not unusual in almost all of the smaller places we stayed...but...as a larger hotel this was a slight surprise...didn't matter to us).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
7.0 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
51.2 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
336 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arnanes Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#1 of 1 in Skalafell
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milk Factory
Milk Factory
#1 of 19 in Hofn
128 reviews
3.4 mi away
Seljavellir Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofn

Address: Vikurbraut | Hornafjorour, Hofn 780, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range: $175 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hofn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in south-eastern Iceland, in the coastal town of Höfn, this hotel offers local cuisine and modern en-suite rooms with a flat-screen TV. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi and free private parking. All of Hotel Höfn’s guest rooms feature a work desk and cable TV access, and some also include a tea/coffee maker. Guests can enjoy glacier and sea views from most rooms. Höfn Hotel’s restaurant serves lobster and other specialities from the surrounding area. During nice weather guests can dine on the furnished terrace. The hotel is within 10 minutes’ walk of Höfn Harbour and Silfurnes Golf Club, while the Jökulsarlón glacier lagoon is less than 1 hours' drive away. Staff can help organise hiking trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hofn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofn Hotel höfn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing