We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needed somewhere to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hofn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hofn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Orlando
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needed somewhere to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We drove the ring road in September, and decided to stay the night here. Yes, the rooms were tiny, and the bathroom tinier. It was probably our least favorite place, however the options are very limited and given our itinerary, we decided to chance it. That said, they did have a really great breakfast - one of the better ones we came across, and the staff were nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dchristi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    172
    152
    40
    11
See reviews for
91
240
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I hate posting negative reviews but we did not care for this hotel. Our room was extremely tiny - smaller than a college dorm room. We did not use the shower because it was so small and would have been more of a hassle than it was worth. There was barely enough room for my wife and I with our two small backpacks.

Positives though were the location and scenery. Absolutely outstanding views from Hofn. The hotel restaurant is quite good too. If anything the small rooms forced us to go outdoors and enjoy every second we could exploring the amazing scenery.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hofn hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hofn Hotel during this winter and what can I say - wow what an amazing experience! The hotel is located in a picturesque location with a central position in the town. The staff are the friendliest, kindest most helpful I have ever experienced in any hotel ever! Ronni, the hotel manager made sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable - which it was. We will be back:)
10/10

Room Tip: Any room is great. Only thing lacking is a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel Hofn is a modern glass and concrete building overlooking the bay in Hofn. The hotel seems to be geared more towards business people and groups than individual travellers, but having said that it was clean, comfortable and well located for exploring the region.

Decent value, and the inclusive breakfast was good. Service could have been a bit more friendly and attentive, but overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Although a modern box like hotel, this was very comfotable and did everything well. The room was well equiped and the bed excellent. Shower soaked the bathroom but this may have been us with the shower curtain. Restaurant has an excellent choice of the local delicacy, Iceland lobster or langoustines. These they prepare in many ways...we tried, deep fried, grilled, and with pasta...all very tasty. These menus are not cheap by UK standards but good quality fresh fish is worth paying for. The hotel also serves pizzas for those not wanting to eat into their Kroner.
Very good selection of cold buffet for breakfast,hot boiled eggs, excellent coffe and fresh baked cookies. Good location in town close to an oceanside walk (if warm enough !). Plenty of parking.
Not the cheapest hotel but limited choice in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalsaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

After a long day of sight seeing Hotel Hofn provided a good night's rest and a pleasent staff. The only place in Iceland that the staff was not fluent in English, but we did ok with the language since the staff tried to please. Rooms were smaller, but had great views of the glaciers or of the countryside. The showers had no lip seperating the shower from the bath floor so you had to be careful when you used to shower. They provided soap in depensers which worked well but was different to folks who were soap bar regulars. Dinner had a good menu and the food was excellent. Breakfast was complementary and was excellent in diversity and quality. Hotel had an interesting contemporary layout and style. Beds were medium firm and provided a good nights sleep. Hotel recomended while in the south east.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VA-Short-Term
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Beautiful one-hour flight from Reykjavik; have your camera ready if the weather is clear.

Vatnajokull Travel put together a group of eight English-speaking guests for our stay, and provided convenient airport shuttle. "Brando"Johannsson drove us around in a van to the local highlights (glacier, iceberg-filled bay, waterfalls, northern lights, national park, coastal cliffs, horse ranch), providing running commentaries and patiently answering our endless questions. Local photographer "Ronni"Hauksson helped us capture the northern lights, and generously linked us to his amazing pictures.

The town of Hofn is sleepy in the off-season, but the hotel restaurant was excellent and the breakfast buffet was convenient. Our comfortable rooms in the detached building were largely protected from the one noisy party in the banquet room; otherwise quiet with beautiful views of the glacier. Highly recommended.
--Karen and Jim from Denver

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
7.0 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
3.2 mi away
Arnanes Country Hotel
15.4 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Guesthouse Dyngja
Guesthouse Dyngja
#3 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milk Factory
Milk Factory
#1 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apotek Guesthouse
Apotek Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Hofn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofn

Property: Hotel Hofn
Address: Vikurbraut | Hornafjorour, Hofn 780, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in south-eastern Iceland, in the coastal town of Höfn, this hotel offers local cuisine and modern en-suite rooms with a flat-screen TV. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi and free private parking. All of Hotel Höfn’s guest rooms feature a work desk and cable TV access, and some also include a tea/coffee maker. Guests can enjoy glacier and sea views from most rooms. Höfn Hotel’s restaurant serves lobster and other specialities from the surrounding area. During nice weather guests can dine on the furnished terrace. The hotel is within 10 minutes’ walk of Höfn Harbour and Silfurnes Golf Club, while the Jökulsarlón glacier lagoon is less than 1 hours' drive away. Staff can help organise hiking trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hofn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofn Hotel höfn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing