We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Hofn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hofn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel Hofn was a good hotel. Hofn is a small town but surprisingly has good restaurants. The hotel room was clean and was a good size. We payed a little extra for a deluxe room. The staff was okay. There is free wifi but it only works in the hotel common areas.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is worth a little extra for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 511 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here one night organized by a travel operator because I couldn't find availability on my own.

It was functional as other reviewers have mentioned. The room and bathroom were clean and we slept well. I wouldn't stay here for any extended period of time but for a quick trip, it did the job.

Breakfast was simple but good.

If you are in Hofn, you must go to Humarhofnin for Icelandic lobster. It was one of the best dinners I have had in a long, long time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Hofn for one night in July 2012.

There are not many alternatives in the area, which drive the prices up. Although it is a 3-star-hotel, some things can be surprising like the lack of elevator (the staff did offer to help repeatidly) or the tiny bathrooms.

We had two rooms, a single with glacier view, and a standard double. Both rooms had modern scandinavian styling, with soft comfortable beds. Both rooms were small, was ok in the single, but crowded in the double.
The bathroom of the standard was very tiny, although the one in the single was almost as big as the bedroom.

The common areas were well appointed with several sofas, terraces, and the views on the glaciers were spectacular. However, I am not sure I would recommend to pay more for that view, would I have know it.

Breakfast was good, but there was no hot food. If possible, try to grab the seats by the windows to get the view over breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guillaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The rooms are small, functional, clean. However, the bathroom is very small, and the shower was designed for handicapped persons and had a very very low standard. The small basin where you brush your teeth and wash hands was very low and you could almost not see it due to the small tablet above it.
The breakfast room and breakfast were ok, if you are lucky you may find a seat close to the front window where you can see either the glaciers or the sea.
The Hotel is expensive for what it offers but there are not many other choices around this place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room was clean. The shower was a bit small and ours had a crack in the shower head so you had to be very careful that water didn't go everywhere. We are a family of four and had to get two rooms which was sort of a pain. We also heard our neighbors very easily which I was not so happy about at 6am.

Bring your own toiletries. They only supply soap.

THERE IS NO ELEVATOR. Be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs. For most people this would be no problem, but I always pack too much. The staff at the front desk did offer to help.

The breakfast was good. There were plenty of choices, but some canned fruit was disappointing. What makes coffee in Iceland so good? Their coffee was very good.

We were there in peak season and did pay quite a bit of money for our average room.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSquaredNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel seems new, but the rooms are not always in good condition. The location is nice, but there is no elevator (in a modern building!). Breakfast is poor and service unefficient. I don' have a personal experience of the restaurant (dinner)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The location of this hotel is top: at the sea, nice views, and walking distance from the city center and the harbour. Our room was nice and big, the staff was very friendly and the breakfast was fine. We dis not have dinner here (there are several nice restaurants in town) but we saw that the restaurant was full at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
7.0 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
3.2 mi away
Arnanes Country Hotel
51.2 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milk Factory
Milk Factory
#1 of 19 in Hofn
122 reviews
25.8 mi away
Hali Country Hotel
Hali Country Hotel
#2 of 19 in Hofn
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofn

Address: Vikurbraut | Hornafjorour, Hofn 780, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range: $185 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hofn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in south-eastern Iceland, in the coastal town of Höfn, this hotel offers local cuisine and modern en-suite rooms with a flat-screen TV. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi and free private parking. All of Hotel Höfn’s guest rooms feature a work desk and cable TV access, and some also include a tea/coffee maker. Guests can enjoy glacier and sea views from most rooms. Höfn Hotel’s restaurant serves lobster and other specialities from the surrounding area. During nice weather guests can dine on the furnished terrace. The hotel is within 10 minutes’ walk of Höfn Harbour and Silfurnes Golf Club, while the Jökulsarlón glacier lagoon is less than 1 hours' drive away. Staff can help organise hiking trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hofn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofn Hotel höfn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing