We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place with friendly hosts”
Review of Nyibaer Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nyibaer Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice little place with friendly hosts”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here in late November without a reservation. We were not intending to overnight in Hofn but it was getting dark and we were a long way from our intended destination. This is a small b&b style hotel just off the main road, but Hofn is pretty small. It is spotlessly clean and rooms are basic but comfortable. They provided the typical Icelandic breakfast and some good advice for the following day. Very nice host. If we were in Hofn again we would stay here again. Not many alternatives in Hofn as far as we could see - the Hotel Hofn looked big, expensive and although it's on the shore, not appealing to us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootallhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    40
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We would not recommend this accomodation, which was by far the worse we got in Iceland. For the very exprensive price we paid (165€) we got some kind of youth hostel level. The building is not attractive from outside and everything but modern inside. The location is on the contrary very good, just a few meters from the port. Breakfast was very basic. Our room was directly in front of the breakfast lounge. We got woken up at 7 am by the first guests having breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlindePassagier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hofn hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We ended up in this guesthouse for 1 night as we were originally looking for the youth hostel that used to be in this building. It is on the expensive side (15000 for double room) and not exactly what we were looking for initially but a nice surprise: comfortable room and bed, clean bathroom (although would avoid the bedroom just next to the bathroom on the 2nd floor because of noise), quiet, nice common areas but above all best breakfast we had in Iceland with skyr (yogurt) and homemade waffles... Yummie :-)
The owner also gave us some good advice on what to see in the East which we very much appreciated.
The lobster restaurant next door was also awesome although expensive.
A good experience in Hofn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourchette_Sacados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed one night here. The beds were comfortable, and unlike other guesthouses throughout Iceland, it was quiet at night, with no talking or banging of doors. And we were right off the kitchen. It was expensive, but we did get the last room, so I guess they can get the price. The breakfast was good. The Hofn pool was great, and we enjoyed our time in this village.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 571MariaR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Lovely guesthouse close to the harbour and a great lobster restaurant. The two single beds were very comforatble. The room, with a private bathroom, was spotless. The breakfast consisted of a large variet of foods and was very filling. The owner was very nice and very helpful. It is quite expensive by Canadian standards, but so much less than the hotels in Hofn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the dining room as two rooms open up directly into the dining room which co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilishm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Nyibaer as a stop over on the ring road while we did some activities around Skaftafell.

Getting to it was very easy and we liked that the it was a easy, simple and clean place to stay for 2 nights.

It is owner operated and the couple who ran it had some great suggestions for the area. They provided some fresh breakfast including some icelandic standards (e.g., fresh made yogurt, waffles). It was also in a perfect location to work to some of the great restaurants in Hofn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hofn hotels
7.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
3.6 mi away
Arnanes Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
Apotek Guesthouse
Apotek Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Hofn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Guesthouse Dyngja
Guesthouse Dyngja
#3 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
House on the Hill
House on the Hill
#6 of 19 in Hofn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milk Factory
Milk Factory
#1 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyibaer Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyibaer Guesthouse

Property: Nyibaer Guesthouse
Address: Hafnarbraut 8, Hofn 780, Iceland (Formerly Youth Hostel Nyibaer)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright and cozy guesthouse located down by the harbor of Hofn i Hornafirdi. Hofn is a charming fishing village on the southeastern coast of Iceland, located just off the edge of the largest glacier in Europe, Vatnajokull. We offer two double rooms with private bathrooms, four double rooms with shared bathrooms, two family rooms for up to 4 people with shared bathrooms. Free Wifi. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nyibaer Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing