We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding. Our favourite stay in Iceland.”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
41 reviews
Cabin 1 Bedroom 1 Bathroom Sleeps 5 Ask about pets Save
Lambhus cottages
Lambhus cottages
Glacier view
Mountain view
Cabin (15m2) - One room & wc
Cabin (15m2) - double bunkbed
Cabin (15m2)
Cabin (20m2)
Made up beds upon request
Cabin (20m2) - Dining table + sofa
Cabin (20m2) - Kitchenette
Cabin (20m2) - double bunkbed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
J B
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
Outstanding. Our favourite stay in Iceland.
2
people found this review helpful

Neat as a pin, cozy warm, comfy bunks and bedding (for rent), lots of windows with view of glacial tongue, cooking area and utensils, no shortage of hot water (our cabin had its own shower and I really recommend it).

This was our favourite place to stay while in I cannot recommend it enough. Internet for hire in main office and handmade knit products for sale were a nice touch.

Communication was smooth and professional and also heartfelt and sincere. We feel the experience was made that much better by having the opportunity to meet, chat and spend time with the owners wonderful parents (and of course Mani and the other animals). We will be back!

Impressed in Newfoundland, and missing Lambhús,
Jenna

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill G
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
Great location, Clean, Warm Dry, View of the Glacier
3
people found this review helpful

We spent 14 days traveling around Iceland and this place was the best! Most of our travel was spent in hostels, bed breakfast style houses and even one night in a tent. They were all nice and we met some very interesting people from around the world but this was by far my favorite place. It was quiet, just off the main highway, located behind the farmer’s house (it is far enough off the main road to not hear the road). All the cabins faced toward the glacier Vatnajökull. The farmer has horses, cows, geese, chickens and a curious dog. We were a group of 4 adults and rented one of the smaller cabins. This had plenty of room and a nice kitchenette set up that had everything we needed for simple meals. We hiked from our cabin to the glacier. A word of warning: the glacier is farther than it looks; it took us 7 hours return trip. The hike was easy it just took about twice as long as expected. But what a wonderful walk, flat, and we did not see one other hiker, just some sheep and lots of birds and interesting plant life. It was kind of magical.
Tips: Stop for fresh homemade ice-cream at the farm across the street and to the east

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Friendly knowledgeable owners that were willing to assist with enhancing our vacation
Liked least: Next time I will rent a cabin with a shower in it insteady of the community shower
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morganaus
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
Absolutely perfect in every way.
5
people found this review helpful

This cottage was recommended to us by a friend, who had stayed here last year. I have to stay, it was my absolute favorite, as not only were the views stunning, but it was like camping with all the amenities provided. We reserved the 20m2 cottage w/ shower and two made-up beds, and it was absolutely perfect. Everything was spotless, we had our own kitchen, and our own bathroom (toilet/sink/shower); we also had a sofabed, table and chairs, as well as a heater that was quiet and extremely effective - at no point were we cold, despite having the glacier so close. And the views, the views!! Just outside our window were some of the most splendid views I have ever seen, in such a peaceful setting - it was fully booked, but everyone was quiet and just enjoying the majestic Vatnajökull. The windows had shades to block out the midnight sun, as well.

The owners were friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the farm animals on the property. For dinner, we drove to Humarhöfnin in Höfn, which was about an easy, 20-minute drive. Best langoustine (lobster) in Iceland, and a spectacular meal; Höfn itself was also quite pretty and worth visiting.

Upon checkout the next morning, we were recommended by some literature placed in the cottage to visit a farm on either side of Lambhús and we chose Hólmur, heading west towards Jökulsárlón. It is another farm and guesthouse, where it was a continental breakfast in a friendly, clean environment, and a lovely hostess. (The owners' big fluffy dog was also incredibly friendly - and "dumb" as they told us, when we laughingly said he tried to jump in the car when we arrived to go for a ride.)

A lot of people do not get out this far east, but this experience was worth more than the time and money it took to get here; I will remember this for a lifetime and urge anyone to make the effort to see this part of Iceland and stay at Lambhús.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 for a stay in May 2011
3
people found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
italiantr...
Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
Great view and helpful owners!
2
people found this review helpful

Lambhus offers wooden Cottages or a camp ground accomodation. In both cases you'll enjoy a great view over the Vatnajokull! We chose the wooden cottage with sleeping bags, by bringing your own sleeping bags you'll save a lot of money all around Iceland and Lambhus is no exception! The cottage was warm and fairly equipped, the only down side was the shower: in the cottage there are washbasin and toilet, while the shower is in a separated cottage.
The owners where very nice, we needed to postpone the booking just one day before arrival and there was no problem! We arrived late in the evening and we needed to eat, so they arranged a dinner for us in a restaurant closeby even if the dinner service was already over.
They also suggested us some nice spot for the following day.
The property is exactly as advertised in the website.
There is no free wifi internet connection.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The shower outside
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahirsch91...
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
What a wonderful place to stay
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin was quite comfortable. It "played" larger than it looked. We stayed 4 nights. The mini kitchen was all we needed for breakfast and lunch supplies. The view across the pastures to the tongue of the glacier 10 km away -- magnificent!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Comfort and view
Liked least: Finding the place the first time
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleifur
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
Nice but pricey
1
person found this review helpful

Easy to find, about 30 K west of Höfn
The place is friendly, with duck pond and playground for the kids.
Great view.
Pets allowed

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The environment
Liked least: price
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$172
/ Night
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.