We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner ”
Review of Pakkhus Restaurant

Pakkhus Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Hofn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open all year round. Pakkhus Restaurant is located by the harbour of Höfn. The menu offers variety of local food from the surrounding environment like lamb, fish, lobster (langoustine) and many other choices.
Lund, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice dinner ”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Had some really nice lamb for dinner, both starter and main. Nice old timey house by the harbour. Some nice micro brew beer as well. Service was a bit slow.

Helpful?
Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    288
    31
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Post-summit dinner”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Loved the atmosphere and location. Bit put off by the odd paintings. Great location. Loved the fish soup and came back for more the next day. Avoid the chicken salad - very dry - but the langoustine pizza is highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and fresh food”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a great dinner at Pakkhus, situated at the harbour of Höfn in Iceland, with nice lobster and lamb.
The service was excellent, it was our best dinner experience during our trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank auslese66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best langoustines I've ever had”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The best lagountines i have ever tasted. A really good service, and allways with a smile. The dessert Skyr Vulcano looked like an real vulcano, with all the elements from it, a good idea with the black meringues and pop rocks. I would recommend the resteurant to everyone who likes good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grelber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“LOBSTER PIZZA?”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

WOW! Stopped in Hofn for lunch on a drive from Egilsstadir to Oraefi. We had no idea where to go so we just went into the first restaurant we saw. What a lucky break for us. We discovered that this restaurant is famous in the East Fjords area of Iceland. I am giving Pakkhus so a great review because it was such a unique experience. The atmosphere and service were wonderful. It is famous for lobster pizza and justifiably so. What an incredible taste delight.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baldur13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pakkhus Restaurant also viewed

Hofn, East Region
Hofn, East Region
 
Hofn, East Region
Hofn, East Region
 

Been to Pakkhus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing