We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb !”
Review of Guesthouse Dyngja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse Dyngja
Ranked #3 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just superb !”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Our favourite place we stayed in Iceland - comfortable rooms in guesthouse with lovely lounge area including an old record player which my husband loved ! Welcoming hosts who are really helpful with ideas and recommendations, many of which aren't in the guide books. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    56
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
130
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Dyngja for one night and found it really good. Fanney and her husband were incredibly welcoming, helpful and interested to hear how our travels were going. The value was good too, we paid €71 for a double for the night. Breakfast was included and was perfect for our needs. Hofn is a small town but it has a few good places to eat, it's a beautiful 45 min drive from Jukulsarloon (the amazing glacial lagoon).

I'd advise Dyngja to anyone coming to Iceland. Top class.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyJRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had the place to ourselves (November in Iceland) and really enjoyed our stay. The young couple hosting us were very nice and gave us great recommendations for the local area. Room was very comfortable, wifi worked and breakfast was sublime. The bathroom could stand to be updated but it was clean and functional. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jillsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was looking forward to our stay at Guesthouse Dyngja, as my email exchanges with Fanney were pleasant. Upon our arrival, we were welcomed by Fanney's husband, who was very nice. We felt right at home, and he acted as if we were friends. He offered us tea and coffee in a small living room, where we could browse guidebooks, brochures, books and boardgames. He also made plenty of recommendations, as the restaurant we had hoped to go to (the Lobster House, which is right in front of the guesthouse) was closed for the season.

The accomodation was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. We were the only guests there, so the shared bathroom was only used by us. They later told us that they usually don't welcome guests at that time of the year, but since we reserved in advance, they opened their doors for us. How nice!

We woke up to a huge (and delicious!) breakfast, and ate in the kitchen with a lovely view of the port in Höfn. Fanney chatted with us and asked about where we came from. Both hosts were such nice people that we told them we would welcome them anytime in Montreal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naivete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here a night only, the town is small but lovely. The host are great welcoming and treat you as you were family. The place is extremly clean, the room are a good size but there is no tv. As a gay couple we found ourself more then welcome. There is also plenty of parking space. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmicheluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on one night of our honeymoon as we were traveling around Iceland. As others have said, the owners could not have been nicer or more accomodating, the lobster across the street was fantastic, and the rooms were great. It is a nice location essentially on the water and in a sweet little town. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a small guesthouse, I believe only 3 rooms in the home of the owners. They welcome you and make you feel at home. The bedrooms are well appointed and have nice furnishings. I think they have been done recently, everything is spotless and we had nice views to the harbour from our room in the ground floor. Good wifi connection. Livingroom where you have a kettle and can make yourself a cup of coffee or tea. However, the use of kitchen is not offered to the guest. This would be handy as in many guesthouses you can make yourself a light meal or some sandwiches.

However, being next to the livingroom could be noisy if guests are so. We didnt have any problems at the time as everyone was sleeping soon. You have to share bathroom. Bathroom looks a bit dated but it is ok. Everything clean. Breakfast was appropriate, usual icelandic display.


We would recommend this house for a day in Hofn. Hofn is a very nice stop in the way to the Glacier Lagoon. The view from this city is amazing... 4 different glaciers are in front of the bay, only a few miles away...

Plenty of restaurants in the area. Hofn is specialized in seafood. However, these are not cheap.
Big Netto supermarket in Hofn. Petrols stations too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
7.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hofn
Hotel Hofn
#3 of 4 in Hofn
497 reviews
51.2 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
303 reviews
3.8 mi away
Seljavellir Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Apotek Guesthouse
Apotek Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Hofn
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Dyngja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Dyngja

Property: Guesthouse Dyngja
Address: Hafnarbraut 1, Hofn 780, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Dyngja 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Guesthouse located right by the harbor in Höfn, a fishing village on the south eastern coast of Iceland. Höfn is at the roots of Vatnajökill, the largest glacier in Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Guesthouse Dyngja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing