We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly family guesthouse”
Review of Guesthouse Dyngja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Dyngja
Ranked #3 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a small guesthouse, I believe only 3 rooms in the home of the owners. They welcome you and make you feel at home. The bedrooms are well appointed and have nice furnishings. I think they have been done recently, everything is spotless and we had nice views to the harbour from our room in the ground floor. Good wifi connection. Livingroom where you have a kettle and can make yourself a cup of coffee or tea. However, the use of kitchen is not offered to the guest. This would be handy as in many guesthouses you can make yourself a light meal or some sandwiches.

However, being next to the livingroom could be noisy if guests are so. We didnt have any problems at the time as everyone was sleeping soon. You have to share bathroom. Bathroom looks a bit dated but it is ok. Everything clean. Breakfast was appropriate, usual icelandic display.


We would recommend this house for a day in Hofn. Hofn is a very nice stop in the way to the Glacier Lagoon. The view from this city is amazing... 4 different glaciers are in front of the bay, only a few miles away...

Plenty of restaurants in the area. Hofn is specialized in seafood. However, these are not cheap.
Big Netto supermarket in Hofn. Petrols stations too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 278 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here on our recent trip around Iceland, the place was very nice, comfy bed and the owners where great people. The restaurant directly across the street had the best Lobster we ever ate as well. We Highly recommend this place.

- Gregor

www.lowbrowroadtrips.com

Room Tip: Great view of Harbor, excellent Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was our first time (my boyfriend and I) staying at a guesthouse and we absolutely loved it!

The host and hostess were super friendly and helpful. On the night we arrived, the host introduced us the house. He gave us a little tour, showing us the room, washroom, living room, dining room and they were all on the first floor. The living room had coffee, tea, tables and chairs for people to relax. What's more amazing is that they have a wicket record player.

In the morning, the hostess prepared the breakfast, which is included in the stay. I must say their breakfast was the best we had so far. They have wonderful tea and cheese selections.

The only drawback people may experience at a guesthouse is sharing bathroom. However, we didn't have any problem sharing and the bathroom was kept very clean.

This guesthouse is very cozy and intimate, the people there make it even better, would definitely recommend anyone staying there if they are visiting Hofn.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baobeidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My two friends and I stayed at Guesthouse Dynja for one night in early June 2012 and we loved how warm and homey it was. The owners could not have been nicer and the room was fresh and clean, complete with fluffy white robes and chocolate ("and here is your chocolate of course" said the owner, clearly knowing the way to our hearts). The breakfast in the morning was fantastic as well - lovely selection of breads, fruit and yogurt as well as coffee and tea. Although we were only here one night, I would absolutely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank alyssamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed in Guesthouse Dyngja for 1 night on our road trip around Iceland. Newly renovated and opened earlier this year, Guesthouse Dyngja is absolutely fabulous and I'd have no hesitation recommeding you to stay here. We received a very warm and friendly welcome from the young Icelandic owners and they were happy to recommend restaurants and activities to do whilst in the area. The guesthouse has 5 rooms and all are very nicely decorated - the bed was very comfortable. There are 2 shared bathrooms (which seems to be the norm for guesthouses in Iceland) - both are clean and spacious. There is a gorgeous guest lounge with board games, books and free coffee. They also have a very retro record player and an awesome selection of records of which the guests can use. The buffet breakfast is the best we had in Iceland with coffee/tea, OJ/apple juices, freshly baked bread, cheese, ham, local jams, fresh fruits etc. There are 2 very good restaurants just across the road from the guesthouse - both serving locally caught fish and langostine which is the speciality of the area. If you're planning to stay in Hofn don't look anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katestevensonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irn_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sydney r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hofn hotels
7.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
51.2 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hofn
Hotel Hofn
#3 of 4 in Hofn
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Seljavellir Guesthouse
14.5 mi away
Guesthouse Skalafell
25.9 mi away
Hali Country Hotel
Hali Country Hotel
#2 of 19 in Hofn
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Dyngja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Dyngja

Address: Hafnarbraut 1, Hofn 780, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range: $105 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Dyngja 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Guesthouse located right by the harbor in Höfn, a fishing village on the south eastern coast of Iceland. Höfn is at the roots of Vatnajökill, the largest glacier in Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Dyngja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing