We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay”
Review of Hali Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hali Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Nice clean comfortable rooms, right by the ocean. We had a great dinner and a great breakfast - great choice with many local foods. I can stay here any time. The whole place has a great energy and we met many nice great people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    249
    56
    9
    3
See reviews for
123
309
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights - comfortable rooms, well appointed, however it was disappointing that hot water was lacking even after discussing the problem with the management. The hotel has recently expanded and there is now more noise than formerly.

The situation is great for exploring the area.

Room Tip: the rooms near the coffee machine are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
645 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

When I was there last summer, there was construction going on at this hotel. It seems that Iceland is entering into the tourist market. However the supply can't keep up with the demand. This hotel is a bit of a collection of different buildings. Our room was neat and immaculate as was the bathroom. They had you take off your shoes by the front door to keep the hardwood floors clean. There is a common living area and kitchen for your use if desired. This property is situated in an excellent location for exploring Jokusarlon Lagoon and is the closest accommodation to the lagoon. It has an very good breakfast buffet with cakes, breads and lunch meats. There is an interesting museum attached to it and the staff is very kind, friendly and hard working. They had a dinner buffet there for $50 per person.
In summary, I feel this is a clean property with a kind staff, but we paid $225 a night and I feel that was high when there was construction ongoing with mounds of dirt outside our room. I feel the price should have been lowered a bit during construction. But if you are looking for a clean place to explore the lagoon, this is your best bet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed at the Hali Country Hotel for 1 night. Unfortunately this hotel compared poorly to the other brilliant places we stayed at on this trip, with the feel of a budget hotel chain.

The reception is up near the main road, with several separate accommodation buildings a few hundred metres away. There is also an excellent small museum up at the reception building.

As a stop-over it was fine. Rooms are clean and large, beds comfy. There is a basic kitchen, where we cooked a simple dinner, although it's a bit grubby especially the pans.

Unfortunately there was quite a bad smell in the bathroom when we arrived. The shower was disappointingly cold. As the rooms are arranged along a central corridor, we got a lot of noise from other guests chattering in the corridor. And there was only one channel on our TV!

Breakfast was also disappointing, in quality and presentation. Dry waffles, browning fruit. Although there was some nice fresh bread and a passable cup if coffee.

I would also warn anyone with long hair using the hairdryers - my hair got sucked in to the fan and I had to cut it out! They are cheap hairdryers and need replacing.

I noticed that there were several other small hotels and guesthouses in the area (although I hadn't encountered these in any of my internet searches when booking this trip), and even another guesthouse in Hali itself, and I would be tempted to try these instead if I return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel is really well located for exploring the South and South East of Iceland. Surrounded by mountains and ocean, you won't want for a view.

The room was immaculate and very spacious. On the first night we had dinner at the reception/restaurant area, which was really delicious, I had the Char which was perfectly cooked, my boyfriend had the lamb soup to start with, which was rather like an Irish Stew, really hearty and could have served as a main course if served with a carb. On the second night we made use of the kitchen in the building we were staying in and made dinner.

Breakfast was really good, lots of fresh ham, cheese and breads. The staff were wonderfully friendly and informative!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emsmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A New guesthouse with comfortable rooms, large shower/bathroom and lovely views with ocean out front and mountains in the back. A nice size common room with kitchenette. Additional new rooms will be open this summer 2014. This is part of Farm Holidays.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrammaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked this as it was the closest place to stay near Jokulsarlon. So glad we did. Rooms were fantastic, staff friendly and the food was great. Rooms were a little too warm at night though. You couldn't turn the temperature down lower than 21c. All this place needs is tea & coffee making facilities in the room to be perfect. It was raining and blowing a gale when we were there and we didn't want to go back out to main building to get a hot drink.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stenward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
23.9 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
27.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Hofn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
12.9 mi away
Guesthouse Skalafell
0.1 mi away
Skyrhusid Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Property: Hali Country Hotel
Address: Hali 781, Hofn 781, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned country hotel. Located right by road nb 1. Only 10 min drive from Jökulsárlón, Glacier lagoon. We offer comfortable double and triple rooms and apartments. Restaurant and museum on site. Open all year around. Breakfast buffet, bed linen, towels, free wi-fi and taxes included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing