We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean room”
Review of Hali Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hali Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a pleasant three-night stay at Hali Country Hotel. We had a private room and shared a kitchen, living room and bathroom with one other guest. our apartment was modern — furnished with mostly IKEA products — and very clean. The kitchen had all the tools we needed and the wifi worked well. Unfortunately there was construction going on just outside our room but work was only done between nine and five. The location is nice but there are no hiking trails within walking distance of the hotel. Jökulsárlón and many hiking trails are only a short drive away.

The complimentary buffet breakfast was excellent. We had one dinner and it was delicious but the portion sizes were too small and it was expensive.

I would recommend staying here for one or two nights to explore Jökulsárlón and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KareAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 689 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent one night at Hali Country Hotel on our way to Jokulsarlon. The hotel is at a great location. The rooms were very clean, the food was great and the service was wonderful. The restaurant building is a museum which was very interesting. The view from the hotel is beautiful. Even though there is construction going on, it did not bother us at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Hali. We lucked out and had the upper part of the yellow house. Everything was brand new...the house actually smelled like it had just been built! We had 4 people and were very comfortable in the house. Two bedrooms which accommodate 2 people each and then a comfortable couch in the living room. The kitchen was fully appointed and we made good use since we had stocked up on groceries. The surrounding area is really beautiful & peaceful (house is right on a lake). We even ended up taking a midnight walk with a headlamp so we could truly take in the beautiful night sky.
This place is a perfect place to stay if you have just gone to the glacial lagoon (Jokulsarlon) and don't want to make the long drive back to Reykjavik. Ask for the yellow house; it's amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for the yellow house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSetterPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed at Hali for one night on an overnight "excursion" from Reykjavik. This is one of only 2 hotels that are close to Jokulsarlon glacier lagoon (it's about 12km east of the lagoon), which is extremely convenient. It is located in a very small village off the Ring Road, right next to the ocean. The location is stunning, in the "middle of nowhere", with fantastic views out to the ocean and to the mountains inland. The hotel is very comfortable with clean, spacious rooms. I had sprung for one of the rooms with private bathroom, which was recently remodeled and the bathroom was very modern. I also had dinner at their restaurant, which was excellent. I understand they offer a buffet in summer, but a more limited a la carte menu in winter. Their dishes all focus on their locally raised fish (arctic char) and lamb, and are freshly prepared and delicious. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and e.g. provided updates on road conditions after it snowed overnight.
Prices are relatively high, but not outrageously so considering the general price level in Iceland and the standard of accommodation. Altogether highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and didn't want to leave. The main building pays superb homage to the owners' ancestor, the author Þórbergur Þórðarson. We loved the bookcase effect on the external wall and found the museum very interesting. Additionally, the staff were friendly and provided excellent service, the food was delicious, the rooms were spotless and beds extremely comfortable, and the location was very convenient for visiting Jokulsarlon.

Room Tip: We had three rooms between us in building number 2 and they were all to the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBunny008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A great place to stay on your travels around Iceland. The room was clean, warm, quiet and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to provide a great service. For example: in general conversation, we told the gentleman that was serving us for breakfast of our intended route to our next destination. He then, without being asked, went out of his way to confirm the road conditions and that the relevant roads were open, since there had been heavy snowfall overnight.
It is well worth eating dinner here, a lot of the food is from the on-site farm, so is very fresh and tasty. The fish and the lamb were exceptional.
Breakfast had a great variety and was very tasty, and was mostly 'continental,' with meats and cheeses, some fish, and bread and jam etc. There was the American influence of waffles, cakes and various syrups.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetstreamaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived at Hali in the early evening after driving eastward along the ring road from Vík and stayed for two nights. Immediately we were made to feel welcome. The room was spacious and very comfortable with a good bathroom and a great view of the sea. We ate dinner at the restaurant both nights and the food was superb; a little pricey, but worth it. We had the soups, arctic char and lamb, as well as the hot chocolate cake for desert, and all were excellent. The breakfast buffet the best we've had in this trip, with a huge selection. The staff were really friendly, advising us on where to go and weather conditions (important at this time of the year), and even doing our laundry for us (a service not normally provided but one we needed).

Hali is conveniently close to the stunningly beautiful Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon, which was our reason for being in the area. Should we ever find ourselves in that part of Iceland again, we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
23.9 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 2 in Vatnajokull National Park
697 reviews
27.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
25.9 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#1 of 1 in Skalafell
322 reviews
25.8 mi away
Hotel Hofn
Hotel Hofn
#3 of 4 in Hofn
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Hofn
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Address: Hali 781, Hofn 781, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range: $168 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned country hotel. Located right by road nb 1. Only 10 min drive from Jökulsárlón, Glacier lagoon. We offer comfortable double and triple rooms and apartments. Restaurant and museum on site. Open all year around. Breakfast buffet, bed linen, towels, free wi-fi and taxes included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing