We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good place to stay”
Review of Hali Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hali Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A really good place to stay”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The rooms are grouped in different buildings and the building we stayed in was being extended. Although we had seen one or two adverse comments about the building works we were not bothered at all by them. Our room, double ensuite, was very spacious, clean and well appointed. There was also a communal lounge/kitchen which again was spacious and the kitchen had everything you would need if you were self catering.
The evening meal in the cafe/restaurant was excellent and the museum was very interesting and well worth seeing (free entry if you are staying - allow at least 30 minutes if you want time to read all about the history).
Finally, just to say the staff were great.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the building works, which look as though they will not finish until Jan/F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMB2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    258
    56
    9
    3
See reviews for
130
314
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is close to Jokulsarlon and a beautiful setting. Nice kitchen to use if some were to stay for any length of time. Breakfast was excellent. Only complaint would be that the doors and hallways are very loud when people go in and out of their rooms, so not the best night of sleep. Otherwise an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsalot341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very nice hotel in a farm setting. Rooms were very nice and very clean. the setting was great right out in the country in view of the sea below a mountain. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the food was superb. Really recommend the fresh lamb from there own farm. Hotel close too a great attraction Jokulsarlon glacier lagoon. Five hour drive from Reykjavik so as one of the other reviews mentioned after stopping at all the views and attractions on the way its a comfortable place to stop for the night or even more if you want to see more of the area. . All work stopped by 6 pm so that was never an issue with us
Roger Jackson

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derbyman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fine place to stay for one night and suited our needs - somewhere close to Jokulsarlon- perfectly. We'd brought food with us so happily cooked in the kitchen (pans and basics like salt all provided). The room was lovely and clean and looked newly renovated (room 27) but the building work did start a lot earlier than we'd been told and there was significant noise at 8am.

Wifi wouldn't work in the room at all so we had to go sit in the corridor or back in the kitchen, not ideal when you're permanently trying to check aurora forecasts at 1am... Along with the fact that this is a hotel where most photo tour groups stay, so there were cars and people coming and going at all hours it wasn't the most relaxing night. It was also our most expensive accommodation anywhere in the country, but when they're one of the only places to stay there isn't really a choice.

Breakfast was excellent and I'd still stay here again for location alone.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the water for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights due to it's proximity to the Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon and nearby "ice beach". One of the best things has to be the food and the welcome from the staff in the restaurant.

There is currently some building work going on ... it was supposed to be 10 am to 6 pm ... but they were certainly working before/after those times - however there was no noise at all after 5 pm and we were out before 9 am anyway. The wi-fi in the accommodation block is a bit tempremental and a re-boot is sometimes necessary. It was fine in the restaurant area. In the accommodation block is a kitchen/lounge area we mdidn't seem to get much use when we were there.

This was my second visit and I will probably visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin-Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The reason for us to stay here was because we needed an overnight stay in the area after visiting the Jokulsarlon lagoon. If you drive from Reykjavik, by the time you stop along the way and get to the lagoon & beach, you will need a place to stay for the night. This B&B is about a 10 minutes drive from the lagoon, so just manage your time to get here by dinner time. While the view is very nice with the mountain and water, Hali Country Hotel is not your charming B&B with the ambition to please, but just a clean room to get some decent sleep before continuing on with your journey. They also serve dinner, which is basic but fresh homemade cooking, and breakfast is included in the room. With no other options to eat or sleep in the immediate area, this B&B is the solution, but again, don't expect anything more. Right now they are building new houses to respond to the increasing number of tourists who need accommodation in the area, it's quite a construction site and can look depressing. The "hotel" also has a museum that guests of the hotel can visit free of charge. All in all, you will be in and out of this place so fast there's almost no reason to look at it twice. Jokulsarlon, however, is worth all the time and effort of the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel consists of a main building with reception and restaurant and accommodation spread over several buildings. We had a very large and spacious room in building 2 which is being extended. We were aware of this at the time of booking and the workman could not start until 10 am and had to finish at 5 pm so this was not irritating. Unknown to us we could have booked B&B and cooked for ourselves in building 2 which had a fully equipped kitchen with fridge etc for the use of guests and a pleasant dining area. You would need to bring your own food as the nearest shop is some way away however at least 1 couple did this. We stayed here as it very close to the Jockulsarlon lagoon and glacier walks. The food was excellent particularly the buffet dinner; the only option in the tourist season was IKr 5,500 each which was expensive, no coffee or sweet. Also if you are a vegetarian and non fish eater there would be almost nothing to eat. Breakfast was also good but on both mornings they ran out of plates, cups, coffee and the pancakes maker never kept up with demand. The hotel was pretty full and we had to ask staff to replenish. We were told it was close to the end of the season and staff were hard to find, sorry as this was our most expensive hotel in Iceland that is not acceptable. We had high expectation from the reviews and it did not meet them consequently an average review based on price and service. On our second night as we were in the area we ate at the Pakkhus restaurant in Hofn, excellent food, our service was good but we noticed other e were slow, it was packed with people queuing to get in. Overall Hali is very convenient of ice lagoon, comfortable and clean but expensive, even by Icelandic prices.

Room Tip: If you want the cheaper option opt for shared facilities and breakfast only and cook for yourself in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
23.9 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
499 reviews
27.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
25.9 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Hofn
266 reviews
12.9 mi away
Guesthouse Skalafell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Property: Hali Country Hotel
Address: Hali 781, Hofn 781, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned country hotel. Located right by road nb 1. Only 10 min drive from Jökulsárlón, Glacier lagoon. We offer comfortable double and triple rooms and apartments. Restaurant and museum on site. Open all year around. Breakfast buffet, bed linen, towels, free wi-fi and taxes included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing