We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean, comfortable and great food”
Review of Hali Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hali Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, comfortable and great food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was recommended to the hotel by a friend and was not disappointed. The standard of the rooms is execellent, really clean and very modern, they are also away from the restaurant so are very quiet. All rooms have a TV and free wifi.
The food here was excellent, fresh fish - try the smoked Char! The hotel is ideally situated if you plan to visit the glacial lake at Jokulsaron.
The staff couldn't do enough to help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the sea if they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    252
    56
    9
    3
See reviews for
125
311
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Super friendly and clean accommodation in insanely beautiful setting! The lamb and chard for winner were delicious and so was breakfast. Can highly recommend! Amazing location! Well worth the 7 hour drive from Reykjavik. Very close to the glacier! Super friendly staff made us feel very welcome!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

When we arrived we were a little surprised, as in fact the hotel is divided over multiple cabins, and it is like usual in iceland, metalplated from the outside, the looks were deceiving however - when we arrived into our rooms, we were surprised by the comfort, luxury, cleanness, beautiful styled bathrooms and a great view. This hotel was for us the best in Iceland, the location is just near Jokulsarlon (the ice-lake) and it is a very good start to either drive with a super-jeep to the north, or with a normal car to the east. The staff was friendly, there was a pc available with the latest weather forecast & northern lights. The restaurant was nice and cozy, and it is the only place where one could actually eat from the hotel, because there is nothing else near.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Set between the escarpment, a lake and then the sea you can't get better, rooms were excellent, there is the availability to cook your own meal in a communal kitchen if you choose or are on a budget, quite a lot of basics are left by guests. The restaurant serves lovely food, if a bit of a limited menu, excellently positioned for the iceberg lake, Jokulsarlon, which is a must see :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SroobiusPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a photographic tour, because we had to be at the Jokulsarlon Lagoon both at sunset, and sunrise, so we weren't really in the Inn for too long, and there is certainly nowhere else close by.

The name "Country Hotel" is somewhat misleading, it being more like a cross between a motel and youth hostel. The new rooms, with private bathrooms are really very nice, and the bathroom has underfloor heating, which was super after being out on glaciers for hours.

The dining room was fine, but the choice somewhat limited, basically to fish and lamb. We had the lamb, which was local, and very good, but the "specially selected" wine to go with it was pretty rough. Probably better to stick to the Icelandic beer.

We would stay here again, but would probably have to if we wanted to visit the lagoon again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very simple, but comfortable rooms. Fabulous grounds, if you can call it that. In the midst of ocean and mountains and probably a great spot for northern lights if the weather's right (it was raining the one night I was there). As others have said, dinner was pricey, but the fish straight from the farm was delish, as was the breakfast buffet. Stay here for proximity to the glacier lagoon.

Room Tip: I had the room with private bathroom and view of the ocean. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopazTunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
234 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The country hotel Hali is conveniently located approx 12 km from the Jokulsarlon Glacier lagoon and that gives plenty of opportunity to see it in different natural lighting conditions. We stayed for 2 nights in Sept. The room was comfortable and large. The kitchen was very well equipped and had a nice sitting place that gets beautifully lighted up during sunrise and overlooks the farm and the sea beyond. Bathrooms and showers are adequate for the number of persons sharing and we actually did not feel that we were using shared toilets. The restaurant serves excellent char with mashed potatoes and greens, however, it was quite costly as is any other restaurant in Iceland. They have a stable within the compound and it was really great experience to be close to a couple of Icelandic horses.
A great place to stay in South East Iceland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niloy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
23.9 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
27.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Hofn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
12.9 mi away
Guesthouse Skalafell
0.1 mi away
Skyrhusid Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Property: Hali Country Hotel
Address: Hali 781, Hofn 781, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned country hotel. Located right by road nb 1. Only 10 min drive from Jökulsárlón, Glacier lagoon. We offer comfortable double and triple rooms and apartments. Restaurant and museum on site. Open all year around. Breakfast buffet, bed linen, towels, free wi-fi and taxes included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing