We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind, clean and great view!”
Review of Hali Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hali Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Kind, clean and great view!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Excellent Guesthouse.
People are very helpful and kind.
It's very clean, big kitchen, and a a great view from everywhere you are (kitchen, livingroom, rooms)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    249
    56
    9
    3
See reviews for
123
309
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hali Country Hotel was a good stay for two nights. At a total of 47600 Kr (US$370) it was a little on the pricey side. 

It is just 14kms from Jokulsarlon (Glacier Lagoon) and before the town of Hofn. Look from the main road towards the sea and see a long building with giant book spines along it. It was a good location in a tiny village. 

They did not have the option to book online - only via email, which they wanted me to send my credit card number! No way! I asked for a fax so I could send it that way instead. They said never mind about paying a deposit if I can just give my full name and nationality! 
 
There are two buildings a short walk or drive from the main building which has the restaurant and museum (didn't check it out) and were recently refurbished. We were in room 38 which faced the mountains and provided a much nicer view than towards the sea. There were about 8-10 rooms with private bathroom and around 3 or so that shared a bathroom. There was also a large communal kitchen and living room area and while we were there one night we noticed some people camping outside. 

Our room was fine; typical European beds (two pushed together with individual comforters), a small table, one chair, two nightstands and flat screen TV. Lights above the bed were great for reading. The room was warm and had very good black out curtains since this time of year it doesn't get fully dark. 

The heated bathroom floors were wonderful, but the water didn't get as hot as I would like. The shower was at least a little bigger than usual which was nice. Soap only was provided, so bring your own shampoo and conditioner to Iceland as we never saw any at any place we stayed. Wifi was free and strong in our room, which was the best we had. Overall it was a very comfortable and modern style room. 

The staff were very nice and even so accommodating as to serve us dinner at 9pm when dinner was from 6.30-8pm (very early compared to the later nights in Reykjaik). They farm their own lamb and fish, so the lamb and char dishes were excellent! The best fish I've had this whole trip. Breakfast (served 8-10am) is included and was the typical European style with cereal, breads, ham, cheese, boiled egg, tea and coffee etc.

Overall I recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a really brilliant place to stay, well placed for some of the best locations in South Iceland. The accomodation right by the sea looks a bit simple on arriving but inside it is very comfortable and well equipped. The rooms are spacious clean and comfortable, there are both en suite and rooms with shared facilities. The communal sitting/living area is really excellent, bright, comfortable, fantastic views, fast wifi. The resturant run by the owner is five minutes walk away and the food is home cooked and good, I recommend the Arctic Char. The Jokulsarlon (Glacier Lagoon) just 12 kls away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Excellent Guesthouse. Very clean, view from window just awesome, service very nice and helpful. The owner of the guesthouse incredible kind. Great value in general.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaZielinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I would definitively recommend this fantastic place (even though it is one of those great adresses you feel like keeping just for yourself;). The guesthouse is very close to Jökulsarlon which allows several trips (just 12 km) to admire the lagoon at different lights! I arrived late, after kitchen closing time and still got served a huge meal of lamb with cabbage, roasted potatoes and salad, which really gave me the feeling I had finally arrived in the heart of Iceland! (the sheeps are two steps away:)
The staff and, especially Þorbjörg is adorable and truly kind.
There is a little souvenir corner at affordable prices in the entrance. The room, clean and tidy, was very nice and spacious. It had a sink, towels and the view over the sea! I couldn't have dreamt of a better place to experience the South coast. I will definitively come back next year!
Sandra P.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The owner and one worker stayed 2 hours late for our arrival. We were the only guests the night we were there, and we had gotten a flat tire that had to be replaced on our way to the guesthouse. They graciously prepared us dinner and shared in conversation with us as well. The accommodations were some of the nicest we experienced in Iceland, as well. Spend the money for the rooms with attached bathrooms--they are extremely nice with flat screen TV's and views of the ocean.

Room Tip: Spring for the room with attached bath--they are fantastic! All buildings seemed nice, however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Would recommend this guest house for overnight trips to Jokuslarlom. We loved the fact that the buildings were spread out and enjoyed a short evening walk to the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was excellent I would definatly recommend the lamb.We stayed in a family room which was big enough for all 4 of us with a shared bathroom.The only negative was the rest of the guesthouse was filled with a party of Spanish who took over the kitchen and lounge area. - luckily we had booked bed and breakfast as there was no chance of us getting near the kitchen in the morning. The breakfast was great with lots of differnt choices. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eviesqueezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
23.9 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
27.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Hofn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
12.9 mi away
Guesthouse Skalafell
0.1 mi away
Skyrhusid Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Property: Hali Country Hotel
Address: Hali 781, Hofn 781, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned country hotel. Located right by road nb 1. Only 10 min drive from Jökulsárlón, Glacier lagoon. We offer comfortable double and triple rooms and apartments. Restaurant and museum on site. Open all year around. Breakfast buffet, bed linen, towels, free wi-fi and taxes included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing