We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hali Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$217
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Framtid(Djupivogur)(Great Value!)
$183
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon(Vatnajokull National Park)
$241
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Stadarborg(Breiddalsvik)
$107
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hofn Inn(Hofn)
$127
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveler rating
341
281
63
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
281
63
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarctic charlambyellow houseglacier lagoonmeatballsseparate buildingsnorthern lightsreception restaurantseveral buildingsvisit jokulsarlonthe atlantic oceannewer buildingminute driveice cavesmall museumworking farmring road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
537 - 542 of 700 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed two nights at Hali. We had four rooms for 10 people in our family group (two double rooms and two triple rooms). We specifically asked (and got) rooms in the new building. The rooms were brand new, still smelling of fresh paint. They were spacious and the private shower and bathroom in each room was clean and modern. We highly recommend the rooms in the new building. The food at breakfast and dinner is served buffet-style. It's fine food but varies little from day to day. Note that although TripAdvisor lists this facility under Hofn, it is actually 70 km west of Hofn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FactotumDellaCitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had a perfectly good night here, with a few small caveats.

The room was plenty big for the three of us (a couple and one child). As with most hotels in Iceland, there was no double bed -- just two beds pushed together, and a third for a child. A sign outside the building with the rooms in it asks that all guests remove their shoes in the entrance hall. All rooms face either the mountains or the sea; we had a mountain view, which I liked.

The building with the rooms is down by the seashore, while the restaurant is up the hill attached to the museum. A bit of a walk through the midges to get to supper.

Supper itself (not included in the price) was a very nice buffet of traditional Icelandic foods -- lamb soup, fish, cuts of meat, home baked bread -- and if I don't sound more enthusiastic it is only because the buffet at a different place we stayed was gigantic -- but this was fine and had plenty of food for all. Breakfast (included in the price) was also a moderately-sized but perfectly sufficient buffet of Icelandic traditions -- cuts of meat, cheese, Skyr(which is ubiquitous), and cereals.

We didn't visit the museum. I thought it might be included in the room rate but it was not and it didn't seem interesting enough to be worth the extra money.

Rooms were quiet and clean, and almost (but not quite) dark enough at night during the midsummer light. But that is a problem everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Two_if_by_Land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed at Hali during our trip around Iceland. The acommodation was nice, but quite loud since the walls are thin (as usual in Iceland). The rooms are clean and comfortable (with a small washing basin in each of them, which keeps clashes low). The next restaurant or supermarked is far far away, so if you are planning to cook something in the well equipped kitchen, be prepared. The restaurant of Hali has a small restaurant which is pricy but tasty. The menu contained around 5 dishes - so good for a day but on the next day there would be a clash.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ASDBigmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

13km of the floating icebergs of Jokulsarlon. In between Skaftafell & Höfn, so except the lake there is really nothing in the neighborhood to see or do or eat. But the lamb & fish they offer is great. The non-icelandic students who work here are very friendly and helpful, but a little unexperienced in the neighborhood, the local specialties or the practicalities of checking in and out. The rooms are clean and spacious in a cosy guesthouse

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

To start with the positive things; the guesthouse is in a good location, close to the N1.

On the arrival we had to get our room key at the new museum which is located close to the guesthouse and the staff were friendly to us. We received a voucher for 1 hour free internet but if you want to use the internet longer you propably have to pay.

The room was very spacious and we had a great view over the ocean.
But unfortunately the room wasn't cleaned properly. There was a big spider on the window which must have been there for a longer period of time as the spiderweb was huge and covering 1/3 of the window.

There is a big kitchen for the guests but this wasn't cleaned properly as well. When opening the drawers there was dirt stuck to the drawers and it did look a bit filthy. The same applies to the fridge snd the kettle. Unfortunately there was no washing up liquit and therefore we had to improvise when we wanted to clean our dishes.

Besides the kitchen there is a big and nice sitting area with a big TV. We could watch a large variety of TV channels (icelandic and english). There were also magazines and books available which was nice.

The bathroom was a bit dated and when we took a shower the sink in the bathtub was blocked and the water didn't drain. Were standing in a little lake of dirty water which is not nice after a bussy day. The wall cover in the bathroom was loose and water could get behind it which explained the uneaven floor in the bathroom.

The guesthouse does have a lot of potential but it needs some repairs and renovations. It all makes a dated impression.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnuk-Schnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews