We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely worth the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Humarhofnin

Humarhofnin
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Hofn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Experience the unique taste of the local Icelandic lobster/langoustine, in the charming restaurant Humarhofnin by the harbour in the fishing village Hofn.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

This was the best lobster dish I ever had in my life. It was so irresistible that we had 2 meals in 2 days stay. We had't waited table when we arrived around 6-7pm. About 6500-6800 for lobster tails or full lobster, must try the former one. Waiters were also friendly and professional. Best experience in iceland!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank patiencehsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    191
    38
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catalunya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Langoustine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Good restaurant but not cheap. It's worth a visit.
As so many restaurants and hotels in Iceland an smile in the face of the service will be desirable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveller744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Yes we also waited... About 45 minutes on a Friday night, but it was totally worth it! We enjoyed the local brew while waiting, and then once seated we were treated to freshly baked bread, lobster bisque and the wonderful lobster tails... They look like shrimp but taste like lobster. They were accompanied by two sauces and a salad. An expensive meal, but in line with everything else in Iceland. We would definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank KKayLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had to wait about 30 minutes for a table (at least there was a place upstairs for us to sit and wait). The menu isn't large, but we knew we wanted the Langostines. We weren't disappointed. The Langostines were excellent and there was a large portion served. The dinner is pricey, but it was worth both the wait and the price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good Food, Laughably Terrible Service But Not Much Else In the Area”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We went as a party of 4, and waited about a half hour for a table due to it being crowded and one of the only dining options in a small, touristy town. When we were seated, it took about 5-10 minutes for the waiter to come, and he simply asked us what we wanted to eat (no greeting whatsoever). He started walking away and then turned to ask us for drinks. I got a beer, and I was busy talking to my girlfriend to my side when he plopped it down right in front of my arm without exusing himself.. It was awkwardly rude, but I let it slide. The lobster bisque was very tasty, we got that as a starter. We also ordered the lobster tail, but that took almost another 45 minutes after we finished the bisque, even though the restaurant was cleared out significantly. In the meanwhile the waiter(s) never asked us if we would like more drinks or apologize for the delay. When the lobster finally came it was good, not the greatest as they were rather small. The terrible service continued as we had to ask for napkins and an additional fork for the table; a request that was met with an unpleasant acknowledgement. The dessert menu was limited to 1 choice, the other 2 had been sold out for a while and they hadn't changed the menu yet. The place itself had a pleasant ambience, but it was very poorly run and certainly not worth the money. Avoid if you can, but I have a hunch the reason they can get away with the apathetic service is the fact that you can't really go anywhere else..Unacceptable for a supposedly high class restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humarhofnin also viewed

 
Hofn, East Region
Hofn, East Region
 

Been to Humarhofnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing