We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey langoustines”
Review of Humarhofnin

Humarhofnin
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Hofn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Experience the unique taste of the local Icelandic lobster/langoustine, in the charming restaurant Humarhofnin by the harbour in the fishing village Hofn.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pricey langoustines”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The town of Hofn is apparently well-known for its fresh langoustines, so while we were there, we decided to splurge a bit and see what all the fuss was about at this restaurant.

We had the langoustine bisque (roughly 2000 ISK) and a few plates of the mixed whole langoustines and langoustine tails (about 5900 ISK each). As you can tell, its a pricey meal!

The bisque was average, with small chunks of langoustines inside. The mixed langoustine dish was rather yummy, and they were cooked in a garlic butter sauce. It also came with a generous helping of salad, pink langoustine sauce, and salad dressing. While the sauce was really tasty, we felt that the langoustines themselves were either overcooked or unfresh, and so that was abit of a letdown. If we had to come back, we would take the dish that was purely langoustine tails, as they were much easier to eat. They do give a lot of bread which helps to make the meal more filling!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank koochiehsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    204
    39
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“The best langoustines and lamb”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Who knew such great restaurant exists in a small fishing town Hofn. I was just thinking of going to ATM and get some stuff in the supermarket where I ran into Humarhofnin. The langoustines were the freshest and cooked perfectly with garlic and herbs. I didn't even use the sauce because it was best the way it came out, sweet and juicy. I ended up having another order of langoustine because I probably won't have it this great anywhere. The lamb was the crispy on the skin, juicy and tender as you cut through it. You don't have to be lamb lovers to agree with this dish. Staff were friendly and very down to earth. It was a little expensive, but I was happy to spend it on such quality of meal. I am already thinking about going back to Iceland just to eat there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Lord it was pricy, but damn, it was good!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Among the most pricy places we ate (and we went for lunch), however it was an incredible meal. The langoustines just cannot be beat. Great atmosphere, adorable cafe.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dchristi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had lunch at this cozy little seafood restaurant in Höfn. Since Höfn is rather small, we were afraid that the restaurant, being one of the few ones in Höfn, would be packed. To our surprise all the outdoor tables were available, so we could have lunch outside on a beautiful day. The service was very nice and helpful and the food was very good (seafood for adults and pizzas for children).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anneanddaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Expensive but "THE" Best”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Yes, its very expensive and we recommend that one should factor-in the price of a meal here while making preparations for Iceland itself. But please do not miss this place if you travelling a 100 km near this place. The food is awesome - the Langoustines are absolutely fresh along with the fresh herbs that they use to prepare the food. In fact the herbs can be seen planted on the windowsills. I was particularly amused by their special Black magic sauce.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niloy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humarhofnin also viewed

 
Hofn, East Region
Hofn, East Region
 

Been to Humarhofnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing