We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Langoustine for a reasonable price....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humarhofnin

Humarhofnin
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Hofn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Experience the unique taste of the local Icelandic lobster/langoustine, in the charming restaurant Humarhofnin by the harbour in the fishing village Hofn.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Best Langoustine for a reasonable price....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

While making the way around Iceland we stopped for a night in Höfn which included a visit at the Humarhofnin. We arrived quite early therefore we didn't had to wait to be seated. The have a good wine card and a nice choice of meals. We took the Langoustine and it was fantastic! Even when the restaurant was full with people, the service was great and quick! Fully recommended!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    191
    36
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, CO
Level Contributor
251 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The Best Langoustine Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I had dinner here while making our way around Iceland. I had researched the restaurant on TripAdvisor before leaving home and was looking forward to our stay in Hofn and eating here. We were not disappointed with our langoustine dinners and the friendly service. The restaurant was packed when we arrived and when we left. Everything on the menu looked wonderful and I wished that we could enjoy a second evening meal. Yes, the meal was very expensive but every meal in Iceland is expensive but this was well worth the price. If you visit this little town in southern Iceland make sure you have dinner at Humarhofnin for the best fresh lobster anywhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Triumph1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Our Most Expensive Meal - But Our Most Memorable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is the place to splurge! The Langoustine is beyond delicious as is the lamb. We also tried our first Brennavin here and enjoyed it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoTvlr0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Langoustine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had lots of extraordinary food in Iceland but this meal stands out! The Langoustine was out of this world!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blkcat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
856 reviews
581 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“One of the top meals of our lives!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Today is my husband's 80thBD! He chose this extraordinary place from reading TA and was everyone spot on!!! He emailed for a reservation a few months prior to our trip. The place is charming, great atmosphere, and staff. I think she was the owner/waitstaff... Lovely personality and warmth, we felt right at home. We ordered a Sancerre 2011, Franck Millet, excellent!!! Our meal was #10 on the menu, Langostine Fina, a 350 gram serving of split tails, salad of greens with tomato and basil. Served with two kinds of bread, I only ate the darker one and it was excellent! The food on the menu is from the local area and all fresh. The boat goes out and delivers the seafood each day fresh, doesn't get better than that offering. We each ate until our plates were empty. We were satisfied, and not stuffed. We shared two desserts, a creme brûlée, vanilla beans in view, crunchy when taped, and Skyr, a sweet type of yogurt, crumbled cookies under it and topped with a cherry sauce. Every bite disappeared, and savored!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humarhofnin also viewed

 

Been to Humarhofnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing