We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic home cooked dinners!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Skalafell
Ranked #4 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic home cooked dinners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012, as a base to explore the national park. For us, the best part of our stay was the evening meal. Homemade, and served buffet style, the food was fantastic. The cabins overlook both waterfalls and the ocean. They are very clean. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanandsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    57
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
89
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We where getting worried we would not make it here after a 6 hour drive from Reykjavik after horrible road conditions but where so happy to see this place and get tucked into our quant little cabin. The cabin as clean and comfortable and what you would probably expect for a country property. We where served Trout Fish for dinner and I must say say its the most delicious Trout I have ever tasted.
We came the complete circle route to see the Iceberg Lagoon and we drove over the bridge where the Lagoon was but where so tired we did not realize until after this was the Lagoon we so wanted to see. So make sure you don't do the same as we did.
I don't think you will be disappointed staying here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked one of the private cabins, which after a friendly welcome turned out to be cute, cosy and comfortable with plenty of hot water available in the bathroom. Dinner was a serve-yourself three courses with plenty of soup, bread, meat/fish, potatoes and salad to fill us up, and a delicious dessert to boot. Breakfast was a buffet comprising, a selection of breads, jams and speads, fruit, yogurt, cold meats, cheese and cereals. Hot chocolate, tea and coffee were also available.
Our stay was unique in that we moved into the main guesthouse after our first night and then had an unplanned extra night's stay due to some extreme weather (super gale force winds!) which closed the ring road. Our room inside had twin beds but was spacious and comfortable with a shared bathroom right next door, and as we were the only guests at this point it was essentially private. The availability of free wifi was an added bonus.
The truly outstanding feature of this guesthouse was the unprecedented generosity of our hosts. As we were effectively stranded for an extra day, we were treated to afternoon tea, cake and waffles to keep us going! Then upon leaving, we were told that we wouldn't be charged for the extra night's accomoodation and meals! Who can say they have been treated with such kindness in any modern establishment??
Many thanks, we definitely recommend Guesthouse Skalafell!

Room Tip: The private cabins are cute and cosy and even though it was noisy at night in the high winds, we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornishNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax, fl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The setting of the guesthouse couldn't be any more picturesque. Sheep, streams, nearby waterfall. Hekla the sheepdog greets all visitors and accompanies you on hikes so you don't get lost. Definitely take the local hike off the property for solitude and close up views of glacier. We ate dinner at the guesthouse as well and was a good value when you factor in the 1 hr total trip to Hofn for other eating. The cabins are cozy and private.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Guesthouse Skalafell last July and we enjoyed our stay.We arrved very late after 23 but someone was waiting for us.Breakfest was very good and they have a small information corner near the breakfest tables.The price was not too high and the place is very easy to find and it is very close to the ring road.
We will be happy to come again

Room Tip: book a cabin with shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlyNahariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Recently my husband and I stayed at Skalafell Guesthouse and experienced the time of our life. Guest care their highest priority.
Conveniently located in the National Park with a 45 minute walk to the Vanajokull Glacier. With map in hand we took off on the signposted walk. Some time later we lost sight of the signs and were subsequently lost. Eventually we found our way back as the fog was closing in thanks to the owners sending a search party for us. Wonderful caring folk.
The guesthouse is comfortable, homely and very friendly. Home cooked meals were the icing on the cake. We will always remember this experience and the care and attention shown to us even though only a one night stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soignies, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I very recently stayed at this guest house as part of a week long Icelandic tour. This place by far exceeded the others. The first good point was the amazing meal put on for the guests at dinner time. Starting with an excellent soup and salad, followed by the main buffet which consisting of your choice of a fish dish, lamb, sides of potatoes and cooked vegetables, gravy and of course dessert. Also tea was ready to be made as well. Since it was a buffet style you had the option of seconds. It seemed to me that the hosts took delight in their guests going back for seconds, or even thirds. Which I greatly appreciated on this day since I hadn't eat all day by that point. I can't say enough good things about the supper. The price was reasonable as well relative to what other places are charging, and for much less.
We stayed in the main guest house for the night and I loved the bed. Very comfortable and it was an actual double as opposed to singles pushed together. I had no issues getting access to the shared bathroom, but it is the low season as well.
Breakfast was good. Very similar to other breakfasts we have experienced in Iceland so far. I have seen some other European versions of breakfast and this one crushed them all, except for in the UK. The UK is the king of breakfasts!
I would most definitely return to this guesthouse. I cannot comment on the cabins though. Also..the view was certainly up there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itislikethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
2.3 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
14.7 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
12.9 mi away
Hali Country Hotel
Hali Country Hotel
#2 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Hofn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nypugardar Guesthouse
Nypugardar Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Hornafjorour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
14.9 mi away
Seljavellir Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Skalafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Skalafell

Property: Guesthouse Skalafell
Address: Route 1, Hofn 781, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Skalafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skalafell Guesthouse And Cottages Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing