We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a place to stay”
Review of Guesthouse Hvammur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Hvammur
Ranked #19 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a place to stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our amazing tour.is Ring Road tour brought us to this guesthouse in Hofn on the 3rd night. Arrived late in the day, to a note saying to ring the doorbell and someone would come let us in. Guy gave us the key, and we didn't interact with any other staff at all besides the lady sitting outside the breakfast. Everything was fine, normal, average for an Icelandic guesthouse. Aside from the power going out (and then going on at 7am causing all the lights to turn on and wake us up), and the scenic morning harbor view, the whole stay was wholly unmemorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almostaghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    51
    47
    40
See reviews for
35
71
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked the day before and this was our only option. We paid more for this room than the other four guesthouses we stayed in during our seven night Iceland trip. It was by far inferior to all other guesthouses, and therefore very overpriced. The room only just fit a double bed with minimal room to place our bags. The bed was comfy, and the interior warm enough. The curtains were sufficient to block the sun. The bathroom and toilet facilities were shared and down a corridor away from our room, although there was a handbasin in the room. The decor was quite worn compared to the rest of Iceland. It was possibly clean but as the carpet and architraves were so worn it didnt look it.
The location was nice on the harbour with a lovely view out the window. The restaurant 2 mins walk across a carapark and also on the harbour, served great food, but the service was haphazard with the girls preferring to chat behind the bar instead of serve.
Breakfast was OK, but again not quite as good as the other guesthouses, with the food not appearing as 'fresh'. The guesthouse although poor value for money appeared full on the night we were there whereas with all other towns they were only half full, so Im guessing there is less competition in Hofn?
The guy who greeted us and took our money while nothing wrong with the interaction wasnt friendly as per all other guesthouses.
This room served our purpose of somewhere to sleep for the night, and has a lovely view.

Room Tip: Unstairs rooms have windows. Downstairs room didnt look to have windows and would be noisy in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hofn hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Been here this august for one night: room was tiny but very clean (and with sink), while bathroom are quite big for a guesthouse and, again, perfectly clean. Location is very good aswell, with some rooms having a nice view on the port. Breakfast, even if not comparable with a 4 star hotel one, was really good aswell, and the staff was very kind. Would return here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firestart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Polynesia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

And Lonely Planet said this was the best choice in town? Amazing!

We stayed here for one night and that was one night to long. The place is acceptable only by a wisker. The walls are pretty thin since we could hear the people next door snoring. The bathrooms are shared.

The wifi worked once but as soon as we restarted the computer we could not get it to work. Since there was no one on site to ask we never were able to get back online. Their local hotspot was not so hot.

Breakfast was very basic even by icelandic standards.

If we had to do it over again we would give the place a miss.

Probably our worst pick since arriving in Iceland.

The only saving grace is we had a wonderful meal just around the corner at Humarhofnin which should not be missed

Room Tip: Try somewhere else for a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bed room, which was small but clean. There is no reception, but a staff member will come if you ring the bell. Can take a while, though. WiFi is free, but there was only one key per room which only one person was able to use at the same time. Breakfast was included and decent, but the breakfast room was way too small. Overall, a good pick in Höfn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliFer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is mainly a hostel-style guesthouse, but they have 1 2-bedroom apartment on the top floor which was definitely the best option. Very moderately priced, but also fairly basic. The apartment was clean and perfectly functional for our one night stay. Definitely nothing fancy or luxurious here though. Breakfast was included. It, too, was fine, but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you like sleeping on mattresses with no sheets or pillows, then this the place to stay. The place is reasonably priced and the breakfast buffet, although a little pricey, isn't bad. A nothing special place to stay in a nothing special town. The fast food restaurant next door serves good fish sandwiches.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlgm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hofn hotels
7.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
3.7 mi away
Arnanes Country Hotel
0.3 mi away
Apotek Guesthouse
Apotek Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Hofn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
House on the Hill
House on the Hill
#6 of 19 in Hofn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Dyngja
Guesthouse Dyngja
#3 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milk Factory
Milk Factory
#1 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Hvammur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Hvammur

Property: Guesthouse Hvammur
Address: Ranarslod 2 | Hvannabraut 3, Hofn 780, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Hvammur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing