We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 bedroom/2 bath family room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our family of 4 adults and one child really liked the family room at this hotel. We had two bedrooms with two baths/showers.
We found this arrangement was perfect for getting everyone out in the morning.
The breakfast was ample and had a variety of foods.
The room was very clean. We had no complaints about staying there and would certainly go back.
The location was fine for us since we had a rental car and I felt that getting around to the different locations was a little easier than if we had stayed in Reykjavik.
The beds were comfortable.
We didn't require any service and only asked a few general questions from the staff. Everyone spoke English very well.
The cost was about $1000 (US) for 4 days, which was probably a value for Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porterjames2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 508 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here on a recent school visit. Kids loved the hotel, great rooms, especially the apartments. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely food served for dinner and breakfast. Reasonable packed lunches. Nice and quiet hotel (even with 50 school girls staying there!). Very fast wifi even with all the kids using it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I chose this hotel for the price and the fact it had private en suite bathrooms and free wifi. It is situated about 12 K out of Reykjavik but the bus ride is very easy and convenient as well as cheap. I was traveling alone to see some sights for a brief 2 night stay. The desk service was polite and helpful throughout the stay. They will give you an early morning wake up, book tours ,answer endless questions and make sure your flybus is called and booked for your return flight. They a also allowed me a few hours late check out which enabled me to take a trip into Reykjavik and see more sights. Breakfast was a very good continental breakfast with great coffee ,lovely fresh rolls a selection of meats and cheeses, waffles and skre-overall very good breakfast. For the price I paid in Iceland I was not expecting much at all but this little hotel delivered and was perfect for what I wanted.Excellently clean room, great wifi and even a small flat screen TV.Great.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 232 a single standard and it was perfectly acceptable and very clean- small of cour...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank berdiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week during our holiday. Breakfast was not super, but still all what we needed. The staff was superb, allways helpful and smiling. Helped us in all our requests with good solutions all the way. I wouldn't hesitate to come back some time. :)

2  Thank Norvoll
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a very disappointing experience with the Hotel Hafnarfjordur. The front desk tried to pull a fast one by downgrading our room from superior singles to twins. When we rejected this, there were all kinds of excuses (we really did not understand why) and then we finally go the rooms we booked. But quite frankly, this hotel does not deserve the high score it has gotten from Trip Advisor. First, there is nothing like walking down the hallway with absolutely filthy carpeting on the way to your room! The front desk staff is rude and not helpful. The town where it is located is an absolute pittance. We wish we spent the night in downtown Reykjavik. I really wouldn't wish this hotel on any of my friends or family -- stay away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank World_Hiker_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The only way to describe this hotel is a dorm or hostel that claim to be hotel. The room is one relatively large space packed with beds all around with a kitchen cabinet as part of the same space. Luckily, the bathroom is separated from the rest of the room. Breakfast is minimal in a basement hall, with no windows, that once again gives the impression it is actually a dorm. It is far from the airport (30 minutes ride) or downtown (similar distance) in an industrial zone. If it wasn’t our last night in Iceland before catching an early morning flight I would go and look for somewhere more decent than this property.

Room Tip: The best advice is to look somewhere else. If you want to be close to the airport there are options...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LetsGoPens_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I returned from my first trip to Iceland just a few days ago. My flight arrived at 6:15 a.m., and I arrived at the hotel around 9 a.m. Despite check-in not beginning until 2 p.m., they did their best to get me into my room as quickly as possible, and had me in my room by 10:30 a.m.; something they did not have to do. The room was clean, comfortable, and the staff....fantastic! The front desk staff were very helpful in making arrangements for the tours I was interested in. I used Reykjavik Excursions for all the tours I went on, and they provided complimentary pick-up and drop-off at the hotel for all their tours. The breakfast is very good, but you won't find scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage. But that wasn't a big deal since what they did have was very good. If you like Taco Bell, there is one just around the corner, and Subway is about 1/4 mile down the street. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! A terrific value!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haukur B, Manager at Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

We are pleased to hear your positive feedback for our hotel. We put effort on personal service and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our Hotel.

We are also happy to hear that your trip to Iceland was enjoyable, and we welcome you again to our Hótel Hafnarfjörður.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
1.1 mi away
Viking Village Hotel
Viking Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
355 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
292 reviews
4.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Vellir
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
135 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,062 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road

Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: $130 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing