We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly hotel with breakfast included”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hafnarfjordur
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly hotel with breakfast included”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel has an excellent buffet breakfast including cold cuts, cheese, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal, bread/toast, and waffles. There was also Skyr and something described as "sour milk" which when the two are combined is similar to the consistency and taste of American branded yogurt. Skyr is the traditional Icelandic yogurt but by itself is thicker and less tart.

The rooms look very much like the pictures online. They are spacious with closet, armchairs, desk, and a refrigerator, microwave, and small electric stove. The city of Hafnarfjordur is interesting on its own right and the hotel can sell you a day pass for all of the bus routes in Reykjavik. As a tourist it is convenient not having to worry about correct change or getting on the wrong bus or going the wrong way. The number 1 route has stops right by the hotel and it goes to the central bus station.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room which is spacious and everything one really needs. The hotel originall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZuberFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    239
    71
    21
    5
See reviews for
97
221
50
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here. I have to say that all members of staff we incredibly helpful and friendly. They couldn't do enough for you. They help us arrange excursions and recommended a lovely bar to have a food and a few drinks.
Hotel was clean, bed very comfortable and quiet.
Bathroom was very clean as was the hotel room.
I would defintly recommend stay here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahChich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel positions itself as a family, budget place to stay. We went as a couple (without a car) and would definitely recommend it. It is basic but has everything you need and a really nice, relaxing atmosphere. The reception staff were very helpful, spoke excellent English and booked a number of trips for us.
It's about 30mins on the bus to Reykjavik but there are a couple of bars/restaurants in walking distance too. If you don't have a car I'd recommend getting appm 1 day or 3 day bus pass from reception.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandCat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel Hafnarfjordur was a nice hotel the staff were really helpful and put up with out 10x daily questions without batting an eye. The rooms were nice they had wardrobe, draws, sofas, tv and a small kitchenette area all with fridge kettle toaster and microwaves. The beds only come with 1 pillow each that deflates some what but they got me a spare when I asked and they provide clean towels each day (they will let you take them to the Blue Lagoon if you ask, as the BL charges).

However 6 of the hotels rooms do not have a cooking area so if you are looking to cook there request a room with the cooking facilities (2 small hobs). A downside that they need to improve is also the lack of items they give for cooking, the rooms only come with one small cooking pot, we requested a frying pan and they did find one but if a few people in the hotel did want to cook they would have issues.

The hotel is about 10-15min out of the city on the bus or driving. You will need Bus No# 1 to get to and back from the city and it comes every 20min and 50min past the hour to and from hotel and town. It is pretty cheap and you can buy single passes a day pass or a 3 day pass.

The hotel will book all tours for you from the reception desk, don't book Northern Lights tours in advanced do it on the day. We used a company called BusTravel.is for Golden Circle + Blue Lagoon and a South Coast tour they were cheapest but the tours were great the drivers were informative and funny. Most tours will pick up from the hotel (some charge 1,000 krona).

There isn't really anything close to the hotel so night time if not on a Northern Lights tour you will probably want to go into the city for evening activities. I would suggest doing the Blue Lagoon in the evening rather than in the day too. Much quieter than the day and there is something lovely about sitting surrounded by mountains with the stars out in the warm milky blue waters. There are other outdoor pools in the city 2 bus stops out if you wanted the warm waters without the price and the hotel staff are happy to show you where they are on the maps too.

The hotel has one computer you can use to check emails or tour websites and print off your e-tickets the hotel does charge for the printing though.

Behind the hotel takes you to a main road and to the right of that they have a KFC, Taco Bell and one of their supermarkets Bonus if you want food. on the same road as the hotel there is also a pizza place and other take-a-ways. Tap water is safe to drink.

Breakfast at the hotel was good. They offered a choice of cereals, breads to toast and waffles. They had fresh fruit and a mixture of cold meats and cheeses, eggs. They had choice of teas and coffees as well as fresh juice and or squash. It runs from 7am-10am each day.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have cooking hobs. So when booking request a room with or without if you wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a perfect alternative to Reykjavik hotels, which tend to sell out fast, and also increase exponentially in price as travel dates approach closer. We were a group of 10 - I represent a travel company and I was traveling with nine guests. We were in Iceland for 6 days, specifically for Northern Lights viewing.

The Pluses:
- Location is excellent - it is about 35-40 min from the airport and just off the main highway, so very easy to get to. Takes about 10 minutes to be in Reykjavik city center. Very convenient. There are never any traffic jams in Reykjavik. Of course, it is assumed that you have our own transportation.
- Staff - very cooperative & helpful
- Rooms - the rooms are all different shapes and sizes. Presumably the building was not built as a hotel, but converted from something else. Nevertheless, the property is spotlessly clean - has an IKEA feel to it (in terms of the furniture and decor). All rooms have microwave and refrigerator.
- Heating is old style, no central AC, but we did not have any problems.
- Restaurant and Food - we had pre-booked a dinner for our group on the day we landed, to avoid going out that night. That meal was the best meal in our entire stay in Iceland. Breakfast is hearty, served from early in the morning. On our last day, we left the hotel around 5.30 am, but they still packed us a sandwich and had tea/coffee ready - a gesture much appreciated.
- The hotel has a small coffee/bar which is open 24 hrs, as it is managed by the front desk person
- they have a ton of information about Iceland in the lobby and the front desk can organize taxis, tours etc. (Although we recommend hiring a car and driving yourself).
-There is a small store in the adjoining building, and while it is not a fully stocked grocery store, it does offer some basic supplies (although it opens only at 10 AM, by which time, most tourists leave the hotel)

The Minus/negatives - the only negative feedback I would give is that the breakfast was *exactly the same* every day! There was absolutely no change, and perhaps a bit of variation would have made it interesting, especially since we stayed there five nights

Now for those heading to see Northern Lights- we went to lake Kleifarvatn, which is just 15 min drive from this hotel. Follow Rte. 41 toward the airport, then branch off on Rte. 42, once you see the lake on your left, there are several places to park. We went there four nights, and saw beautiful lights on two of the nights.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MapsAndStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuyFls, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a room with a small kitchen for 7 nights. Large room with two small beds. Very clean. Wonderful breakfast! Desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They even tried to help me twice to pronounce the name of the hotel, but without success. Because we rented a car, this location saved us lots of cash compared to something closer to Reykjavik. We are new to foreign travel, but staying in such a welcoming place allowed us to relax and begin enjoying our adventure. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong by choosing one of the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioOrienteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very nice clean room with a mini kitchen. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They let us sleep in the lobby until they could get a room prepared for us, earlier than check in. They helped us manuever the bus system, booked tours for us, even tried to get my boyfriend a tattoo appointment. It's a little off the beaten path, but the bus does run right in front of the hotel, straight into Reykjavik, about a 15-20 min ride. It's within walking distance to the harbor, and some shopping, though the selection is greater in the city. The room was quiet, we never heard anyone else. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast is served from 7-10, a typical continental breakfast. A big savings in a country where dining out is quite expensive. My only complaints would be the refrigerator not getting cold and a "bathroom" smell which seemed to eminate from the drain in the bathroom floor, easily fixed by closing the door. Basically, if you need or want something, just ask. The staff here will do their best to accomodate you. It was our choice not to address the 2 issues that we did have.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krsshll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#49 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Viking Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Property: Hotel Hafnarfjordur
Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnarfjordur 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjordur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing