We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and value in Reykyavik area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were 2 families and one couple stayed 2 nights (First and last nights of our trip to iceland)
-TRIPLE room in the main building was very large.
-DBL superior in the main bulding was WOW.
-Locatied on the way to airport and not in city center which was very convenient for us
-.Located on the FLY-BUS shuttle route.
-Helpfull staff
-Very clean
-Very comfort beds
-Good breakfast

At the first night 2 families stayed in a separate building located at a nearby street.The rooms were new and OK just that it is a separate complex.
We enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efrat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 517 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We search for months for a hotel to stay while in the Reykjavik area for eight nights and finally decided on Hotel Hafnarfjordur. We were very pleased with our choice. We arrived early having been on an overnight flight and the manager promptly made sure that a room was ready within an hour. We had no problem using an American credit card without the chip. The room was very spacious and clean with a kitchenette. The breakfast was very generous with cold cuts, fruits, vegetables, toast, cereal, boiled eggs, and yogurt. Coffee was superb!

The staff was very courteous and helpful in making our travel arrangements and even have a partnership with a local rental car agency but we did not use it. The bus stop is within a block with quick and frequent access to downtown Reykjavik and the Kringlan Mall. We purchased a Reykjavik Welcome Card at the hotel which provided access on the bus and many museums. We walked several times to downtown Hafnarfjordur which is charming and has several shops. Be sure to stop and eat at Cafe Aroma in the shopping center on the harbor. You'll be glad you did. They have a plentiful lunch buffet that begins at 11:30 am. Also within walking distance is a hamburger restaurant called American Style and there is a Kentucky Fried Chicken/Taco Bell close by as well.

Our only complaint was with the large German tour groups. They literally took over the lobby on certain days and you had to push and shove to get through the crowd to your room. Several times during our stay the police were called to settle disputes with members of these groups. They were also somewhat discourteous at breakfast cutting in line and bumping into you. This behavior would not be tolerated well in Texas.

Room Tip: See if you can stay in the front. Be sure to close your curtains as it can get very warm in your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowboy6278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel sure do go the extra mile to help you out whatever way they can. If you have any question about how to get around the local area , where to eat, things to see, they are more than willing to help. If they don't know the answer, they will call someone who does to find out for you. Everyone who works here speaks very good English and most everyone I have met in the Reykjavik area does too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tractor68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here Aug 7-13, 2013 with husband who can be a certified pain. Even HE had no complaints. Clean, quiet, comfortable. A high point is the staff who are incredibly helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was plentiful. Location is a bit out of the action. A plus for us, you have to decide for yourself if that matters to you. It is an easy 10 min bus ride to downtown. Why not 5 stars? There are no meals available late in the evening. A couple of times, we came back from late excursions and were out of luck. But knowing that, plan ahead and you are golden.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We came in late at night and received a very nice welcome with drinks and fruits and smiles. Breakfast was generous and prepared with care to our surprise, internet was free. Later we will learn that this is not always the case. A nice start to a new country

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue_or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our first night in Iceland and we found the hotel to be very pleasant. Just south of Reykjavik, the town is typical. The hotel room was large, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Desk staff very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for a quick four day trip to Iceland. The studio we had was ample space for me, my wife and two kids in their twenties. Rooms were clean, well maintained and spacious. The whole hotel feels like straight out of an Ikea catalog :-) Free wireless with reasonable transmission speeds. Free breakfast was fine but a bit unimaginative. One downside is the absence of a bar. The hotel is in a suburb of Reykjavik but it's easy to get into town and/or to the airport. It's in an industrial area, so the surroundings are drab. Just a few minutes ride into Hafnarfjordur, which has a handful of restaurants. It's reasonable good value, for Iceland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mix579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
4.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,883 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viking Village Hotel
Viking Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
367 reviews
4.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
312 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road

Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: $97 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing