We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Hafnarfjordur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hafnarfjordur
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Watertown, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Hafnarfjordur”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here June 27-July 3, 2013. Very nice hotel, helpful staff, good value. Our kitchenette room was clean, large and comfortable. A car is helpful, but there is a bus stop very near by and you can walk into the town in 10 minutes. It's about a 15 minute drive to Reykjavik. There is plenty of parking and the internet connection in our room was strong. Breakfast was good, nothing fancy, but just about the same tings I'd order if I went out for breakfast. There was really nothing about this hotel that was not to our liking and I would recommend it anyone looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in the capital region.

Room Tip: I would suggest a kitchenette room - there is a grocery store just down the street. Eat a good brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    242
    71
    21
    5
See reviews for
96
223
50
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our 5 day trip to Iceland. First few nights we stayed at this hotel. if you have a car, I think staying in this hotel is better than staying in Reykjavik as the room was three times bigger than the room in the Centerhotel Arnarhvoll. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and the hotel has plenty of parking spots. The breakfast was basic continental so nothing to write about there. Also in the room is a fridge and microwave which was very handy. There are a few supermarkets nearby that are a five minute drive. The staff was very friendly and if I'm ever in uncle and than I will choose this hotel over the one in the center of the city. From this hotel the drive to Reykjavik was 10, 15 minutes and the parking there was not expensive at all. If you get hungry, eat dinner at the Viking Village restaurant -the food was so good!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meduza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you have a car and don't mind using it to get into town, this hotel is a good bet. Much bigger rooms than a city centre hotel and the staff are helpful and friendly. It is an aparthotel so you get a fridge, microwave and kettle thrown in, which makes it possible to self cater if you want. The only downside is breakfast. It's a bit on the basic side and I never understand why hotels think they can water down orange juice and no one will notice. It really lets the hotel down.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room - it doesn't cost too much more but you get a beautiful room with windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyTrouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Hotel Hafnarfjordur is great, but it is a long way from the centre of Reykjavik! It would be fine if you had a car, or intended to rent one, but otherwise the location is not what I would have chosen for a city visit. However, the staff are great, the price is good, the service is excellent, so I would suggest the location certainly the only drawback.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights because it was close to family in Gardabaer, and the hotel was very good. Staff were very helpful, the rooms clean and pleasant. They even made us some breakfast sandwiches and coffee for us before our 4:30 departure to the airport.
Don't eat at the Chinese restaurant that is close by - it was not good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglaisenautriche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed 1 night as we wanted to be close to airport for our afternoon departure. Check-in was smooth, friendly and with a smile. Our room was on the first floor so transporting luggage was easy with parking right outside the front door. The desk clerk provided us a nice map of the harbor area so we could find a place for dinner. Our room was large with a small kitchenette area. The bathroom was clean and bright, however towels were rough. The shampoo bottles were not sealed so I suspect they are refilled each day. The breakfast is standard fare and included waffles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polartrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived about 8:30 PM after a long drive from northern Iceland and found the hotel without any problems. As it was nearly dark the road signs were still visible and street lighting was adequate. The two gentlemen at the front desk were efficient and prompt with the paperwork and we were settled in our room in short order. The hotel was very quiet and clean with a good sized room including a small kitchen area. It is located in an area of the city lacking anything of interest for the tourist but that was not an issue for us as our need was to be able to get to the airport for an early flight. It was perfect for that.

The only negative was the sandwiches made for us in the morning since we were departing prior to when breakfast was served. The juice was very thin and was best not consumed. We do understand that it is impossible to serve every guest especially when hours are not convenient but a danish or croissant would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumph1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haukur B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnarfjordur, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

We are pleased to hear your feedback for our hotel. We put effort on personal service and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

As a response to your comment, we have updated our juice machine, so from now on our guests can enjoy fresh juice every morning.

We welcome you again to our Hótel Hafnarfjörður.

Best regards,
Magnús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
4.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viking Village Hotel
Viking Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
343 reviews
4.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,050 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Vellir
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Property: Hotel Hafnarfjordur
Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnarfjordur 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjordur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing