We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is situated about 30 minutes from Keflavik and about 15 mins from Reykjavik. Most excursion companies will pick you up so this isn't a problem, but Taxis are expensive and buses are infrequent at the weekends, so the distance out of town could be a problem for some.

The staff at the hotel were excellent and friendly - nothing was too much trouble and they definitely made our stay much easier.

I had a superior single room which was spacious and hade everything... Fridge, small stove, microwave, kitchen utensils, crockery and cutlery! More like a small apartment really. The bed was really comfortable, the room was clean and everything worked although the bracket for the shower was broken so I had to hold it by hand.

I was there in June, so it is the season of almost 24 hour sun and the curtains were thin, so they could do with thicker curtains or shutters to block out the light. EIther that or take an eye mask. Rooms were well insulated from sound, either that or the other guests were very considerate.

Breakfast was a "continental" buffet of breads, ham, cheese, preserves etc - nothing special, but certainly enough to get you going for the day. The orange and apple "juice" is best avoided though - not sure what it was but it's far from fruit!

There's a little shop next door - "Snaeland" where you can pick up snacks, sweets, drinks, ice-creams etc, which came in very handy. Bust stops, shops and a few places to eat nearby.

All in all, very happy with my stay. Only real problem was the distance from Reykjavik centre, but this is not insurmountable. Would definitely consider it again,

Room Tip: If you are there in summer months, try and choose a room on the west side - the sun rises very early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJFUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haukur B, Guest Relations Manager at Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

We are pleased to hear your feedback for our hotel. We put effort on personal service and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.

Regarding your comments, we have a NEW juice machine, so from now on our guests can enjoy fresh juice every morning. Thank you for your feedback.

We welcome you again to our Hótel Hafnarfjörður.


Greetings from our staff,

Magnús

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 509 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Hotel was clean - very important to us...and quiet large for our family of 3. while we did eat out, there was a very nice kitchenette to dine in. The staff was very nice and more than willing to help you find the local attractions and places to eat - whatever you need. It would definately stay here again. It was about 10 minutes outside of Reykjavik, but a great location to head out on the Golden Cirlce tour. it is between the airport and downtown Reykjavik and closer to the Blue Lagoon than any hotels in Downtown Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a great place to stay for a night or two whilst you visit Hafnardjordur and/or Reykjavik. The room was extremely clean and well equipped with a kitchenette. The breakfast buffet was good (except, as others note, the terrible orange "juice"!). It is walking distance to the harbour and about 15mins drive into Reykjavik. Great value, friendly service, don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I spent four nights spread out over three separate stays at this hotel. I enjoyed not only the cleanliness of the rooms but also the friendliness of the staff.

SERVICE: The daytime reception desk workers are/look quite young but they provided prompt and knowledgeable service, facilitated such things as early check-in and late checkout, and were very accommodating.

INTERNET: Wireless internet service was spotty at times but wired service is always available in the room.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast was very basic (avoid the watery juice) but filling. Tea selection wasn't great and the lemon tea tasted exactly like green tea for some reason.

ROOMS: The rooms were simple, clean and tidy, and the beds were very comfortable. Housekeeping kept the bathroom clean but the beds were never made up again. No problem! Hot water varied by room depending on the controls. The in-room kitchen was adequate although a good scrubbing of pots, pans and utensils after each guest leaves would be useful as some items had not been properly cleaned by previous tenants. Also, the size of pots and pans varied by room. Scrubbing of the floor in front of the kitchenette should also be done because when I first went to the kitchen area in my room my socks stuck to whatever had been spilled there previously.

LOCATION: Don't stay here over a Holiday weekend unless you have a car, as buses don't run on holidays. Walking to town is possible but it will take you a very long time. When buses are running you can catch one near the hotel with no difficulty at all. The #1 bus will take you past Kringlan mall and straight to Central Reykjavik within 20 minutes

Overall, this place was well worth the money and I would stay here again. If you don't mind the distance, I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehfxgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel has the best staff I could find in and Iceland hotel, in particular, at the reception desk. Warm, helpful, friendly and most important, very professional. And they didn't charge anything for their smile.
Rooms are amazingly large for an Iceland hotel, clean and fully equipped. A certainly large bathroom, TV, american kitchen, wire and wireless free internet conection in the rooms, guest information leaflets, telephone, quite nice decoration for its category.
Lobby is wide and nice, and there you will find a complete sort of information about Iceland. Bus stop near the hotel.
Is this hotel near perfection? Shame, no, but very very close to it.
Breakfast is a downside here at Hafnarfjordur Hotel. Orange juice is pure water with an orange color cast, and food choice is really short, althought correct.
Coffee... well that's nothing different as in the entire island: awfull. Pleaseeeeeee!!!! Put an expresso choice for the rest of the human beings.
IMHO, improving won't cost so much to the management.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Killbillxxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haukur B, Front Office Manager at Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for reply and we are happy to hear that your stay in our Hotel was enjoyable. Also that you experienced our personal service by our staff.

We welcome you back to Iceland,
Greetings from our staff
Sunna Halla
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Perfect hotel for budget travellers like ourselves. A real selling point is the kitchenette in each room, complete with microwave, hobs, fridge and crockery/cutlery - makes it much easier to spend time in Iceland without breaking the bank. (I could make a pun here about banks already being broken but will resist...)
It's a wonderfully clean hotel, with a decent breakfast and VERY helpful staff - the manager even took us in his own car to visit a local attraction we hadn't been able to find by ourselves! And although it's not in central Reykjavik, that means it's nice and quiet. Not the prettiest location (near offices, shops, cafes and warehouses in a spread-out low-rise suburban area) but safe and very convenient for travel. The local suburb/harbour of Hafnarfjordur is all within easy walking distance, including cheap supermarkets and cafes. There's a bus (S1) right outside the hotel which takes you to central Reykjavik in 10mins. All the excursion operators will pick you up from the hotel, and transfers to/from the airport or the Blue Lagoon are quicker than from the central hotels.

If we come back to Iceland we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ours was a room at the cheapest rate, and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed here in february 2012 with my girlfriend - our friends recommended this hotel and we are absulutely satisfied. Good price and we had a nice room on the first floor. The hotel is really cosy and the atmosphere is good, I actually felt like home away from home. The room I had was very clean and newly. I am from Germany and some of the staff speak fluently German which was very helpfull with planning daytrips. We also had a rental car - free parking here a big plus!! and only 10-12 minutes drive to Reykavik city centre. Breakfast was okey, everything you need for a good start into the day. There are two computer free to use and also free Internet during our stay for my laptop, that was very nice :-) I will come here again definetely !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
1.1 mi away
Viking Village Hotel
Viking Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
360 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
296 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Vellir
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
139 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,749 reviews
4.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road

Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: $127 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing