We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for school trips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hafnarfjordur
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for school trips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Rooms very spacious and light with large bathrooms. Very clean and a large buffet breakfast available. Rooms have microwave and hot plates as well for self catering. Suitable for school trips. Really good location for the airport and for Blue Lagoon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    235
    70
    21
    5
See reviews for
92
220
50
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I had a flight cancelled and had to extend my stay at the hotel. They were extremely friendly and helped with my situation (although my rate went up for the additional stay). Things to note:

1) it is between Reykjavik and the international airport so perfect to start or end your trip
2) it has been updated and has clean, simple, and generally small rooms
3) don't expect high end amenities in your room
4) i stayed in two different rooms: the first was a kitchenette in the main building and was very quiet, the second was a room over the wing of the hotel that is above the burger joint next door. The burger place stays open until 11PM, the staff cleans for a while later, they clean pots with water jets, after cleaning then chit chat in the back while catching a smoke. One guess on why I know that. Not a quiet second room.

On a side note. I smelled cigarette smoke one time and mentioned it to the manager. He immediately went door to door through the whole wing looking for the smoker and warning each room not to smoke or get thrown out. I've never seen hotel management act so quickly or firmly. He never found them, but it stopped. Those European retirees. They just don't like rules.

Room Tip: If you turn in early, don't get a room over the burger place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here on the first and last night of a week's holiday in Iceland. It is conveniently located on the outskirts of Reykjavik (about half-way between Keflavik airport and the city centre) and served by a regular (2/hr) bus service into town. It doesn't serve its own evening meals but has a number of 'fast-food' outlets within a 5-minute walk and a couple of great restaurants down by the Hafnarfjordur harbour/sea-front (15- minute walk or 1-2 stops on the bus). Rooms were spotless, the beds comfortable, neighbourhood quiet, staff helpful - well worth considering as a cheap base in Reykjavik or, like us, for the first or last night of an Iceland touring holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a noce room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris_the_Bold99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhoteliceland, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hafnarfjordur, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We are happy to hear that your trip to Iceland was up to your expectation and that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We welcome you again anytime.

Greetings from Hotel Hafnarfjördur / Reykjavik, Iceland
Aslaug Maria Magnusdottir, Booking Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

My wife and I were traveling through Iceland and found this hotel on a whim. The hotel was quite nice, clean, good service and friendly staff. The hotel was in a good location in Hafnarfjordur which is a small town near Reykjavik. It seemed more like an extension of Reykjavik since it was so close. Access to downtown Reykjavik was very easy and a short drive with plenty of public parking to choose from. The area of the hotel is also quite nice because you are within walking distance to several food options and a short drive from markets, stores and the downtown Hafnarfjordur bay area which also had a few good food options.

Also, getting to the Blue Lagoon from this location is quite easy. The hotel is near a main road which will take you directly to the Lagoon in about 20 minutes and the KEF airport is about 30 minutes away using the same highway.

Our room was set up like a studio and we had our own refrigerator, sink, dishes, small table and chairs which was nice. One thing about the area we did not like is that we usually like to eat late and/or were out all day and returned to our room late. Many restaurants in the hotel area seem to close between 8-9pm, so after 9pm the only food options were in downtown Reykjavik. The free breakfast at the hotel was ok, but nothing wonderful in my opinion. I would recommend finding a place on Laugavegur downtown Reykjavik such as Prikid or Fru Berglaug instead.

Although this hotel was wonderful and good value compared to many hotels in the area, and I would consider staying here again, in retrospect I may have stayed in the downtown Reykavik area to have easy access to places to eat without having to drive and find parking. Also a word of warning to travelers, although I did not experience this myself, I met a few people at the hotel that experienced difficulty trying to take the bus to the airport and would recommend double checking the night before with the front desk or arranging a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelhersrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhoteliceland, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hafnarfjordur, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your visit and stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant experience choosing our hotel. Regarding the Fly Bus, we have a fixed stop from two bus companies infront of our hotel but in high season we allways recommend our guests to double check their pickups the evening before departure.

Greetings from Hotel Hafnarfjördur, Iceland
Aslaug Maria, Booking Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

A few miles away from Reykjavik on the road from Keflavik, this hotel is in the city of Hafnarfjordur. After driving 2000+km in Iceland and staying everywhere from 5 star hotels to the backseat of our rental car, we found this hotel a superior value.

Pros: Wired Fast Internet
Kitchenette- Fully stocked with plates, wine glasses, pots and pans,etc
Microwave, Stovetop range with two burners, sink, refrigerator.
Full Private Bathroom
King Sized Beds with Linens
TV
Towels, Shampoo
Free parking
Breakfast

Cons: A heated swimming pool would be nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35000ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhoteliceland, General Manager at Hotel Hafnarfjordur, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
I am happy to hear that our newly built Hotel Hafnarfjordur was up to your expectations and you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel when visiting Iceland.

We welcome you or your friends to our Hotel in future and wish you all the best.

Best regards
Haukur Birgisson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

This Hotel offers everything you need.
Our room had a little kitchen with a fridge, microwave, sink and everything you need if you want to prepare some food for yourself.
The room was very clean and it even had german TV (RTL).
The staff were very nice and helpfull.
Breakfast was served in the basement and you could choose from a large variety of thinks (everyone will find something nice to eat).
The hotel is located close to Reykjavik, it's only a 15 minute drive to the city centre.

We booked the hotel in a bundle and can't say anything about the value for money.

We can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnuk-Schnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

If you have a car, it is a good place to stay and ony about £60 / night (expedia)
Short walk into Hafnarfjordur itself which is very quiet. Short distance to Rejkyavik centre by car
Rooms large and had microwave, cooker and fridge. Good breakfast too

About 8 restaurants within short walking distance

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_Blackadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#49 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
City Center Hotel
#28 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Property: Hotel Hafnarfjordur
Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnarfjordur 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjordur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing