We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15 Km from Reykjavik center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, not only regarding hotel issues. good breakfast, if you can do without bacon and egg. If you have a car, this hotel will cost much less than in the center.

Room are a bit small, even in Icelandic standards. A bit "out of town", could be a problem if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shesh-Pac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel Viking is a very nice place, well decorated (based on viking theme), comfortable, clean, the staff is very friendly, specially one of the guys that assist on reception (I do not remember her name).

My husband and I just visited this week the hotel (July 2013), we are from Mexico, and decided to spend a mini getaway in Iceland

I believe this hotel is an excellent alternative if you want to visit Iceland but do not have a huge budget for the expensive hotels at Reykiavik. We made our reservation thru Hotels.com website for a standard room, and when we arrived there, first of all, they let us to make early check-in at 11.00 a.m. and they upgraded our room to a wood cabin without paying an extra!

It is very convenient referred to location too: Is located directly in front of the Reykjaness Bay, the first stop at the FLYBUS (coming from airport), so that you do not need to walk a lot for arriving to your hotel with luggage. If you want to buy some stuffs for eating or convenience goods, there is a small mall that has a mini market calle "1011" opened 24/7 around 200 mts from Hotel. Right in front of this mall, you can find the bus that will take you to Reykiavik Center, one way ticket costs around 400 ISK ($40 MXN or 3.50 USD) and takes about 10-15 mins to get to Reykiavik downtown area.

NOT SO GOOD: Internet access has a bad reception in the cabins, Breakfast is the same every day (they do not change not a litle!) and due to summer hours, and that wood cabins are mostly for families is very common that teenagers make some noise between 11.00 pm to 2,00 am!.

If you want a comfy, not luxury or pricey, very well-located and a nice quiet hotel this is the option.

Have a nice staying in Iceland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviancita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at this hotel.The staff was very friendly an the room was nice and quiet.
The area is very nice, close to the airport, the Golden Circle and Reykjavik.

The architecture/decor is nice, and staff are dressed in (I guess) Viking outfits to give the full Viking experience. The hotel provides a complete breakfast, with coffee, tea, deli meats and cheese, that was great to start a long day of sightseeing around the country.

The water had a very strong sulfur odor (rotten egg), but that might be common in this region since the main source of water is supposed to come from hot springs. But we didn't noticed the smell in other areas so I'm not sure if the hotel was having some issue with that our not.

Toiletries are not provided so be sure to bring yours!

They have also a restaurant that looks nice but it's really expensive for very low quality food (worse than a McDonald's). So I recommend you go inside to take some pictures and have dinner in a different place...

Regarding the price, check with the hotel before booking in sites like hotels.com ... We booked ours and when we got there the hotel was much cheaper than what we paid through hotels.com

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank batitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The best as you can. One of the best in the vikings festival. Quality, hystory, beer, food, battles, in the nordic land.
I love it. I love it. I love it.
Professional staff. An excellent hotel for friends, family and couple.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

In mid April we had a family stay at the Viking Village Hotel - 11 people in our party. The Flybus from Keflavik (airport) runs right by the driveway. The rooms were cozy and comfy, with the big surprise being the amazing Viking-sized tubs just begging to be used. A delicious breakfast was served in the rustic wood dining area consisting of two kinds of skyr, fresh cured salmon, two kinds of pickled herring, an amazing flavorful fresh slaw, chocolate bread pudding, typical style cold cuts and cheese /cucumbers/tomatoes plus flatbread/smoked lamb, along with cereal, a fresh loaf of bread to be cut for toast with jellies and jams... and hard boiled eggs. Staff was helpful - when they were around. Unfortunately we didn't have time enough to use their outdoor hot tub but we did walk across the parking lot to the Viking Restaurant where we were served drinks and foods by Viking clad waiters who regaled us with tales of the old days along with singing. There is a chicken coop behind the restaurant with several varieties of chickens inside... the kids loved it. It was a treat to experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tsduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The welcoming & service offered by the staff made this first trip to Iceland all the more memorable. 5 stars given, as although not top of the range hotel, it has all we required & more - Hot tub, Sauna, Wi-Fi and local crafts for sale. Reception desk was not manned all the time as this is a family run hotel but were keen to help with questions when asked. Restaurant was a delight with the traditional food on offer and the folklore singing accompanied dining there. Location suited us as we had hired a car - but used the excellent bus service as well.

Room Tip: Warm family room with ensuite including a deep bath - landings have seated areas with traditional fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonm664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I spent one night in Viking Village Hotel end of March 2013.
Although it took a while before someone showed up at the desk, the woman was very friendly and helpful. Service was excellent! I booked a single bedroom and I have to say I rarely had such a clean hotelroom, it was a nice suprise to come in a room that was very clean and tidy.
The food in the restaurant was very nice, though a bit too pricy according to me.
One thing that was a bit annoying was that both the water in the hot tub and the water from the tap & shower smelled bad. But that seems to be a problem in a lot of hotels in Reykjavik area so I suppose that hasn't got anything to do with the hotel itself.
Wifi was also fine, didn't have any trouble with connecting to the internet.
I enjoyed my stay and would recommand this hotel.
One thing to keep in mind though that the hotel is located a little out of Reykjavik so in the nearby area there is not a lot to do in terms of activities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
10.5 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,081 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
#1 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
512 reviews
23.7 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,808 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
303 reviews
19.2 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: $122 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing