We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and great hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viking Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique and great hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Two years ago I was looking for something special outside of Reykjavík and closer to the airport. And I found this hotel - the hotel Viking. Whenever I come to Iceland now I stay here.
The rooms are very unique, nice and clean. The hot pot in the back is nice to relax the muscles after a long walk and with a little luck you might even see the northern lights while relaxing in the warm water.
The staff is really nice and if you have a problem they do everything to help.

The smell of the hot water was a bit hard to get used to at first, but it is straight from the nature so it is part of Iceland. And there is always the possibility to make hot water in the room for a tea or for brushing the teeth.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    102
    73
    30
    17
See reviews for
53
163
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here 1 night, before we took our flight back to US. I agree with previous reviewers: the hot tub is dirty - bugs and leaves and dirty and the hotel decor is bit over-the-top Viking themed. I can see where kids would like it, but adults traveling without kids can do better then stay here. The woman receptionist in the evening was friendly, the man during the dayshift - not so much. The breakfast was probably the lowest quality of our trip, but was ok. I guess that is the best description of the place - adequate, wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Järna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Not the friendliest, cleanest or most affordable, but at least the kitchiest.
The kids loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We travelled as a couple in july 2011 and stayed in the viking village hotel. I would definitely recommend this place although it's not quite in the center of the reykjavik. This can also be a good thing because it was very quiet to sleep at nights. ( I don't know it the same can be said on some of the hotels in the center).

The room we had was big and clean. The breakfast was simple but very good. Staff was friendly. Hotel has also some free parking spots which is great if you are traveling by car. There is one free computer to be used for free internet in the lobby. There was no free wifi in the rooms as what I was aware of.

The only slight negative was that there is a sauna / outdoor dipping-pool but these did not seem to be functioning at the time we were there.

The viking theme in the hotel / restaurant can appeal to some people or you could find it a bit tacky. Great hotel for the value anyway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruoska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Viking themed hotel whose viking wannabbees spilled out from the viking restaurant loud and fairly inebriated at all hours of the night. They then all seemed to leave at around 430am so the best you could be assured of was around 4 hours sleep if you were lucky. The hot tub is revolting - when we were there the large ugly flies were taking up too much space for humans to have a go. The rooms are certainly not "luxurious" by any standard. Don't wash to vigorously in the shower as your elbows will be bruised and battered as the space is so small. You only get one small bath towel, so ladies if you want to wash your hair as well as your body then you're in touble. The owner is a miserable and unhelpful hindrance to the hotel. I got to the breakfast room around 710 one morning (it opens at 7) tried to get a coffee but the machine had not been switched on. I said not one word, but he came and told me that if I wanted a coffee, why hadn't I made one in my room. How I didn't beat him up by this stage I'll never know! Given our party had booked I believe 9 rooms for a business meeting over 3 or 4 days we were attending in the town, one whould have thought he would have shown some courtesies to us - but this was not to be. And if you arrive when the viking stuff is going on opposite, you can't get into hotel and you have to wander round trying to find someone to let you in. All in all a pretty dire experience, which culminated in all our party being charged over the rate we have first been quoted. It would have been nice, in line with all other DECENT hotels in Iceland, to have had black-out blinds at the windows, as if you are not used to it, it is difficult to sllep through a night time of daylight. Not only were there no black-outs, my curtains didn't even meet in the middle! An experience I shall not be repeating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ladybird17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed in the hotel „Viking” 4 nights. The hotel is located in a nice town and only 10 km away from Reykjavik. I used a special spring offer and booked a room with twin beds for a very nice price ($ 38/ night/room). Actually, we got a room with three beds. Our room was small, but cosy and warm, with tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel is full of viking articles and accesories.
However, there are some issues. The first: the warm and lukewarm water was with a real smell of sulphur. After taking a shower the entire bathroom smelled of sulphur. The second: you can meet someone in the reception only in mornings; in the rest of the day you have to call or look for somebody in the restaurant over the street. The third: very limited choice of TV channels. This is not the most important thing, but in the evening, after a long day in a fresh air, TV could be useful. We had only one channel in english (news); other 4 channels (music, cartoons, news, films) – in icelandic. The fourth: a bit limited and repetitious choice of breakfast.
My opinion is that the Viking restaurant over the street is overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

A good location at the start of our holiday. Hotel was atmospheric, quiet and relaxing - in September - though may be not in the holiday season. Our deluxe room was comfortable, though not spotless and the tub in the bathroom huge, but would not be suitable for everyone, quite a stretch to get into it - see picture.
The hot pot at the back of the hotel was not in the most picturesque of places but was lovely to soak in.
A good breakfast and a chance to buy gifts for the family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryClift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Property: Viking Village Hotel
Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing