We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is OK, if you can get it cheaply”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viking Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is OK, if you can get it cheaply”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed in the hotel „Viking” 4 nights. The hotel is located in a nice town and only 10 km away from Reykjavik. I used a special spring offer and booked a room with twin beds for a very nice price ($ 38/ night/room). Actually, we got a room with three beds. Our room was small, but cosy and warm, with tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel is full of viking articles and accesories.
However, there are some issues. The first: the warm and lukewarm water was with a real smell of sulphur. After taking a shower the entire bathroom smelled of sulphur. The second: you can meet someone in the reception only in mornings; in the rest of the day you have to call or look for somebody in the restaurant over the street. The third: very limited choice of TV channels. This is not the most important thing, but in the evening, after a long day in a fresh air, TV could be useful. We had only one channel in english (news); other 4 channels (music, cartoons, news, films) – in icelandic. The fourth: a bit limited and repetitious choice of breakfast.
My opinion is that the Viking restaurant over the street is overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    102
    73
    30
    17
See reviews for
53
163
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

A good location at the start of our holiday. Hotel was atmospheric, quiet and relaxing - in September - though may be not in the holiday season. Our deluxe room was comfortable, though not spotless and the tub in the bathroom huge, but would not be suitable for everyone, quite a stretch to get into it - see picture.
The hot pot at the back of the hotel was not in the most picturesque of places but was lovely to soak in.
A good breakfast and a chance to buy gifts for the family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryClift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Viking Village. It is not a Ritz Carlton but it also doesn't cost as much as a Ritz Carlton. The breakfast is great. There are plenty of options for Europeans (meats and cheeses) and Americans (Corn Flakes and Granola) and there were at least two types of fresh bread for toast every morning. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. The two of us are a handful so that is saying a lot. The hotel overlooks a serene harbor and the rooms are spacious (larger than you'll find in any Swedish hotel). Americans beware, the water smells of sulfur (rotten eggs). That is the way it is in Iceland because the hot water comes from the hot springs. This isn't what you are used to and neither were we. A quick fix to the shower problem is to go to the local pool!! Icelandic people love pools so there are a lot of them and we spent a couple dollars (I think $3) to go to the local pool/gym in the mornings. The water doesn't smell there because they filter it for the pool and hot tubs. We got some exercise and relaxation in before a full day of hiking and sightseeing. We will be staying there again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMBoston_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and were a bit disappointed, especially in comparison with other 7 hotels we happened to stay in during our trip around island later on.
The design of it is quite remarkable by idea and obviously was made with great deal of knowledge, taste, investment and appreciation for the Scandinavian history and culture. That becomes especially obvious after visiting the restaurant right by the hotel. And the more one appreciates the environment, the more pittiful it seems to discover the bad management of it.
The corridors, sitting rooms, dining room (where breakfasts are) and the hot tub area were filthy. While the hot tub and sauna are supposed to be working only till 23:00, one would expect it to be cleaned and maintained sometimes, which in time of our stay there had never happened and sauna never worked.
We got the nice room on the second floor with balcony (no complaints there), but during our 3 nights stay it has never been cleaned and sheets' got never changed. Once the maid knocked in the door and offered fresh towels, we asked her to clean our room and offered to free it in 5 minutes, she promised to do so, but when we returned in several hours the room remained unclean.
The same 2 girls (one blond, one brunette) that registered us in the hotel worked in the nearby restaurant and we encountered them often. The brunette one is quite rude I'd suggest avoiding interaction with her when possible. We had her serving us with our friend Icelander in the restaurant and even he was embarrassed and appauled by her behavior.
The owner of the hotel seems to be a nice man, who is always there, so we wondered why he ignores the obvious disfunction of his staff.
The restaurant is quite overpriced, the menu is repetative with very limited choice. The breakfasts in the hotel though are good and tasty with fair choice of meat, breads and cereals, good coffee, juices and teas.
Overall, it might be a good place to see and stay for 1 night, but no more than that and ...don't raise your expectations based on some reviews and video as we did, then you won't be so disapponted.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

The vikings were known by their hospitality. Actually, being kind to your guest was one of the "rules" included in the Hávamál, attributed to the own Odin, the father of nordic gods. And here in the Viking Hotel this rule is taken very seriously. I had a very warm reception by Jóhannes and his family. Definitely, when coming to Iceland, one must visit Fjörukráin, the Viking Village, and spend at least one or two nights at the Viking Hotel.

LOCATION
Fjörukráin is located in Hafnarfjördur, a small town on the way to Reykjavik, if you´re coming from the Keflavik Airport. The town itself doesn´t offer much for fun (if you´re looking for nightlife), except for the Viking Village. There is a shopping mall two blocks away, with some stores, snack bars and a supermarket. There are also two small museums and one can plan excursions to watch the whales and ride the Icelandic horses.

The hotel is on the road, so it´s easy to get there. The bus (the Flybus) stops in front of it.
As it is on the way from Reykjavik to Keflavik Airport, it is also on the way to the Blue Lagoon, so one can plan the visit to Fjörukráin together with the Blue Lagoon Tour (the bus towards the Blue Lagoon also stops in front of the Viking Hotel).

HOTEL AMENITIES
The hotel is very charming and cozy, finely decorated with crafts from Iceland. Next to the reception, there is a restaurant/bar (where breakfast is served in the morning), and there are many viking itens and crafts to sell (the hotel has a small store). The Viking restaurant is just next to the hotel. There is also a geothermal hot pool in the yard. Behind the reception, it is the Cave, a bar where vikings take kidnapped people to drink mead (read more about Viking Kidnapping below).

ROOM
I had a single room, number 27, on the ground floor, with viking style decoration (rustic wood wardrobes, bed and tables). There was TV, reading lamp, coffee maker with coffee and tea. Bathrrom was small, but functional. The only problem was that the shower place was a little small. Water had good pressure and no problem at all with the hot water. Everything was very clean.
My room´s window faced the yard and the hot tube. but it was very quiet.
The bed and pillow were very comfortable and I had a very good sleep quality.

SERVICE
I have nothing to complain about the service I received. Everybody was so nice, kind and polite with me. Jóhannes, the owner and manager, was really a viking, with his good humour and kindness. Everybody was very helpful and gave all the informations I needed to continue my trip.

Breakfast is included in the fee and is very good and strong, with milk, coffee, cocoa, juices, breads, cheese and ham, and other ham-like food.

The service at the restaurnt is also perfect. The meal I had was very nice, well prepared and well served. One can request the Viking Performance, which is a viking "kidnapping", where the person is kidnapped from the bus or room and sent to the restaurant to have a true viking meal or to the Cave, to have some mead.

The Viking Village also offers many activities throughout the year. like the Viking Festival, the Thorrablot, the Viking Market...

There is wifi free of charge, but it didn´t work well in my room. There is also computer with free access to the internet, at the lobby.

The hotel offers also free parking lot.

FINAL CONSIDERATIONS
I highly recommend staying at the Viking Hotel and visiting the Viking Village. One can plan the tour to the Blue Lagoon from there, when arriving or leaving Iceland, as it is on the way to the airport.
It was an amazing experience being in Fjörukráin and surely I´ll be back! Thank you Jóhannes and family for the great moments in Hafnarfjördur! My Viking Trail wouldn´t have been so special without you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viking_Janaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Arriving late at the hotel on the day of our arrival to Iceland, we were all tired and hungry. With two hours time difference we we way beyond suppertime and children bedtimes. So what we really wanted was food and a bed. Perhaps that is why we were a little annoyed with a pre-dinner program involving a hotel-manager dressed as a viking, serving mjød in a not very impressive viking cave while singing old icelandic songs.

But when the food finally was served we were alle delighted with the excellence put into a relative simple meal. Mushroom soup for a starter - very tasteful - and lamb as a main-course. The lamb was very tender and tasteful and was arranged with carrots, beads and other veg. together with a powerful sauce. Not much room for dessert, but it too was no disappointment.

The room was small but nice and clean, with a good bed and a jacuzzi.

Overall a nice average hotel (with a questionable viking-theme) if you happen to lay your way through Hafnafjordur.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank hstilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

I am actually staying at the hotel now, sitting in one of the many common areas, and using free wi-fi. The viking festival will start tomorrow and there are lots of viking wanna-bes from all over Europe hanging out outside. They're loud but the windows and walls are thick (I think). Make no mistake, this hotel is sleek and chic on the inside despite the cheesy name and outside decor. Beds are covered in really nice white bedspreads, bathrooms are large, white, and spacious, and there is lovely wood flooring. All floors have common areas and there is a great hot pot/hot tub (a bit on the dirty side but really charming because it's stone and not plastic).
The restaurant next door, by the way, really wasn't all that great and there was only one entertainer who was not that entertaining.

  • Liked — comfy rooms and beds, really good style
  • Disliked — restaurant next door was disappointing
Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank michelefrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Property: Viking Village Hotel
Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing