We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Travel Company in Iceland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Taxi

Mountain Taxi
Book In Advance
More Info
$153.87*
and up
Small-Group Northern Lights Tour by Super Jeep from Reykjavik
Ranked #3 of 12 Tours in Hafnarfjordur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountain Taxi has cared for Superjeep & adventure travellers in Iceland since 1995. Day trips, longer tours, private travel, expeditions, VIP service and DMC. Personal attention and service to all discerning Iceland visitors. Expert help to make the utmost of your Iceland visit is just a call or mail away. The Mountain Taxi team.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Travel Company in Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The best travel company in Iceland....Wonderful Team of people, organizes the trip so well. They design special trips and making every single trip memorable.

I had a chance of traveling twice with Mountain Taxi, One in Winter and another one in Summer time. Both the trips was amazing and memorable.

I highly recommend Mountain Taxi for travelers visiting Iceland as Solo, couples, families and groups.

I dream to visit Iceland and wait to get into Mountain Taxi again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    6
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Mountain Taxi did a wonderful job taking my wife and I around the southern part of Iceland. We did an all day trip and loved every minute of it. The tour guide was knowledgeable, gracious, and super friendly. We saw waterfalls, a glacier, and walked on a black sandy beach. I highly recommend Mountain Taxi over any of the other Iceland tour companies. We tried a few tours with a few different companies and Mountain Tax was by far the most fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevenGardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Golden Circle Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A very big thank you to Omar of Mountain Taxi jeep Tours for a really fantastic day! The tour lasted approx 8-9 hours and gave us a comprehensive and informative tour of the Golden Circle. Omar is a great guy who is passionate about his country and culture, he provides an in depth history of the country and is exceptionally knowledgeable.
This tour made our holiday to Iceland, the jeep is huge and well equipped for your safety. Omar also took us off road a few times which was great fun. As part of the trip we also booked the snow mobiles on the glacier as an add on, this was really exciting and exhilarating, Great fun! I would suggest considering this as part of your day.
In my opinion there is nothing negative to say about this tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a fantastic day out with Mountain Taxis, it started with being picked up in a Monster Truck at our hotel. Four of us booked the Golden Circle Tour with added snow mobile and although expensive was worth every penny. Omar our guide was exceptional, He was the font of all knowledge. He told us great tales about his life and is a great ambassador for Iceland.
We can thoroughly recommend this Super Jeep tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Brilliant day - Golden Circle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had a super time doing the superjeep golden circle trip. There were 4 of us and we hired the Ford Explorer superjeep to ourselves to follow the golden circle route. Omar, our guide, was great - very funny, very knowledgeable and a great guide. We took in the Geyser, the waterfall, the tectonic plates and the mini dormant volcano as well as a couple of hours snow mobiling. Yes it is more costly than the bus and even more so if you do a private trip but the superjeep gets you to places that the bus cannot and having the guide to yourself is definitely worth it. Cannot fault anything about the day, the guide or the company. The snowmobiling is expensive but the sights and the route are excellent and if you're only going to snowmobile once then you might as well do it in Iceland!! Thanks for making our trip so special.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Taxi also viewed

Hafnarfjordur, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Mountain Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing