We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable house, delightful hosts, beautiful...”
Traditional oak house set in forest and fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional oak house set in forest and fields
Comfortable double bedroom - Apt 1 Comfortable double bedroom - Apt 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Traditional oak house set in forest and fields
Comfortable double bedroom - Apt 1
Comfortable double bedroom - Apt 2
Kitchen with washing machine, microwave etc -  Apt 1
brick built BBQ - al fresco dining !
Breakfast bar and kitchenette - Apt 2
Upstairs - Large twin bedded room with shared toilet
Treehouse for young adventurers
Ensuite shower rooms
Beautiful Bednja hills covered in vineyards
Folk traditions still alive and strong !
Old Varazdin
Old Varazdin - the old Castle and Keep
A day's canoeing down the Drava River
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Marusevec, Varazdin County, Central Croatia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
444Emily4...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable house, delightful hosts, beautiful region with few tourists.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We had a really lovely holiday. Amanda and Jeremy have created an excellent base to explore northern Croatia and beyond. The log cabin was tasteful and comfortable and had a picturesque view of a field of running deer. Our two children were free to explore and play outside as the area is so safe. We were introduced to some neighbours and the girls loved visiting the farm there. We enjoyed playing on the tennis court beside the cabin and had coaching from one of Croatia's national champions! At all times our hosts were full of helpful suggestions for things to do and we really felt we were being looked after by friends. Delicious, fresh local food.
The local town of Varazdin is beautiful, and we enjoyed excursions canoeing on the river, driving to Plitvice, to a festival in Serbia and to a relaxing spa in Hungary. Definitely a great place for families or for anyone wanting a place free of the stresses of crowded holiday resorts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, freedom for the children, not having to lock the doors, lovely hosts.
Liked least: It did get very hot in the daytime and there was no swimming pool on the property, only in Varazdin.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison R
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place for an 'away from it all', but active, break.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2012

Well kitted out, authentic wood house in beautiful countryside. An immaculately clean, comfortable and spacious house that could be used by a largish family, a group of friends (as we were) or individual travellers. Amanda and Jeremy advised, organised and took us on trips and activities including thermal lakes and spa, clay pigeon shooting, wineries, castles, hike and (small) climb and local restaurants. Varaždin is not your usual tourist trap but an interesting baroque city and about 10 minutes drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Meeting locals and seeing the 'real' Croatia
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marggeA
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Idyllic Paradise in Croatia”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Staying at Stara Kucha was a fabulous beginning to a fabulous trip. Amanda & Jeremy made sure that we had all we needed while there. The bedrooms are spacious with refrigerators stocked with supplies... and no charge for the yogurt, tea and bread in our room. There are plenty of trails and woods to explore the area on foot during your "down" time. They are fabulous hosts and introduced us to Verazdin in a way that tourists generally do not see. After going to market and buying local foods, we sat on our veranda with local wine, strawberries, cheese and bread and enjoyed the wonderful panorama view from Stara Kucha.
If interested in enjoying Croatia like a native, be sure to ask Amanda (Minty's Choice Croatia) to help you formulate a vacation plan. She was wonderful in setting us up with the right people to make our eco/active vacation memorable. Thank you Amanda & Jeremy

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the view from the veranda, and of course, Amanda & Jeremy, the owners
Liked least: There was no negative experience during our perfect stay
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neil m
london
1 review
“Stara Kucha”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

I stayed at Amanda and Jeremy's with 3 other friends (24/25 yrs old) following some time spent on the coast. We couldn't have asked for a better stay, a combination of Tennis, Fishing, Canoeing, Walking and even spit roasting chicken in the fire pit was just what we needed after a busy week on the coast and prior to going back to central London. Amanda and Jeremy were fantastic and exceptionally diligent in everything they did for us although. Both a dab hand at scrabble if you fancy taking on a challenge as well! I would highly recommend the Stara Kucha to any of my friends young and old, great find and will definitely be going back this year again. 10/10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The countryside and activities available in the immediate area
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy724
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great to have holiday tailor made to our requirements”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Wanting a week away my husband and I decided to ask Mintys Choice to organise a week's itinerary in North Croatia where they are based. Bit of an ask as we were going first week of March and they had a very severe winter with 1m of snow in places. Anyway, the holiday did not disappoint. Jeremy and Amanda met us at the airport to lend us a sat nav as we were hiring a car and the whole week went just great 2 days in Zagreb followed by the Ptivice National Park followed by 4 nights in the Stara Kucha log cabin from where we toured, rode, went shooting, wine tasting and more. Amanda and Jeremy's knowlegde of the country meant we ceratainly got so much from our trip. We also met so many friendly people who were all so welcoming. Could say alot more that gives you an idea - if you want a holiday where you do not feel like a tourist and you want personal service then I would recommend Mintys Choice 100%. I hope to go again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: 1m of snow in Plitvice meant some areas were closed so we could not walk all of it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DACWashin...
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming cottage, beautiful area, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

This is an amazing place. We have done a great deal of traveling and our week there in Northern Croatia remains one of our favorite memories. The area is beautiful, unspoiled, and utterly relaxing. There are great opportunties for mountain hiking, castles to explore, and vineyards to visit. Although the cottage is in a rural farming area, the delightful university city of Varazdin is just a 20 minute drive away and has markets, outdoor cafe culture, restaurants and a vibrant student nightlife scene. But we found we prefered the complete tranquility of the cottage and for nightlife we would recommend wandering over to Barbara's cafe for a beer or glass of wine with the local farmers.

The cottage has been divided into three studio apartments that offer modern comforts but still retain the charm of this historic building. The view of the neighboring hunting preserve and the mountains beyond is delightful.

Amanda and Jeremy are delightful hosts and will spend as much or as little time with you as you wish. Their dog Penny, however, will insist on visiting you every morning and evening to say hello! They know and love the area and will point you in the right direction for whatever you want to do.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Charm and character of the cottage, grounds, and surrounding countryside
Liked least: Kitchen supplies are sufficient but basic
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely1203
Binghamton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

We had Amanda plan our stay in Croatia. Her and her husband are charming friendly and knowledgeable people. Amanda took us in her car around the area to wineries, markets, and castles. As a special treat we went to concert of world premier piece and met the composer as well. I would ask Amanda for planning advice on your stay in Croatia. We had a universally positive experience. Jeremy and Amanda took for a wonderful hike with are picnic lunch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and touring around the area.
Liked least: it is not in town but the country side was quiet and pleasant
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2013
Thank you. We loved showing off our own little bit of heaven !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$169
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing