We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Hiking tour in Hornstrandir

This natural reserve is so wild, with awesome mountains and fjord view. The tour can be super tough... read more

Reviewed August 7, 2019
Shaohong Z
via mobile
An absolute must hike trail!

I hiked the Horstrandir Natural Reserve with 2 other friends for 8 days late June to early July... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2019
Alain_Pham
Read all 30 reviews
  
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
25
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
25
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bad weather arctic foxes park ranger west tours borea adventures knees trail gps hikers wilderness ferry river gear camping route highlights landscape
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 30 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Sailed and hiked here and loved it! Stunning valleys, fjords and hills. The trails are easy to locate and navigate. The weather can be a bit rough, but well worth it - just be prepared for any type of weather.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2018

the most beautiful place in Iceland in good weather, very hard to be there in bad weather. west tours is a very well organised company to get there.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank stigurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

If you have the time then this nature reserve is a must. We took a ferry to one side, and hiked to the other from which we grabbed a ferry back. On this 2 day adventure we saw orcas, whales, seals, arctic foxes and an iceberg. So cool@

Date of experience: August 2017
6  Thank native-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

The deserted and demolished village of Hesteyri with its sad little church remnants & relics of fishing industry etc. was the centre of a delightful visit by boat to this remote area. The highlights for me were the striped sandy beach gay with wild flowers & with lots of big clam shells to collect, the wild angelica & sweet cicely along the path to the cafe, & the delicious coffee in the cafe with a pastry including rhubarb sweetened with the sweet cicely. Hope for a clear day to get the views - we were a bit unlucky.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017

We took the 9AM ferry to Hornstrandir and landed in Saebol. After a 500-600m ascent (not too hard), we got to the cliffs. The hike was about 8-9 miles. Ronja. our guide from Borea Adventures, was great.
Note: Take windproof pants :). It can be very cold and windy. Multiple layers, mittens and a couple of kinds of hats are a must. So also, sunblock.
The vistas were spectacular. The alpine moss is so spongy that it feels like walking through soft sand. We saw multiple arctic foxes (one scrambling over the cliffs). There was neither a boat nor a helicopter in sight! Absolute peace and quiet - and the desolate but spectacular beauty of Hornstrandir.

Date of experience: July 2017
5  Thank ManiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews