We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
102
105
39
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
102
105
39
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator make your own waffles heavy snowfall short walk from the centre sea view room warm waffles rooms are small cozy place breakfast each morning large suitcases very nice hotel would stay here again two blocks shower curtain fantastic location free wifi felt like home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 264 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2017

The Hotel was located within easy walking distance of the centre of Akureyri & it was possible to park right outside the Hotel, which was great. Reception was seamless & most obliging. The Hotel has no lift, so I was thankful our room was located on the first floor. As previous reviewers have stated the room was small, as was the shower & bathroom. If you are larger in size, it would have been crammed to shower.

The room was clean & the bed most comfortable.

Breakfast was included in the tariff & it was adequate.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hawkesburyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

The hotel is beautiful on the outside and very well located. The positive notes end here.

The building doesn't have an elevator, so good luck getting to your room on the 3rd floor with your luggage. Our room was stinking, apperantly due to a problem in the shower drain. The bedspread had a huge stain on it.

We arrived late and there were no other rooms avaliable, so we asked for those things to be fixed while we went out for dinner. Coming back, the smell issue was resolved with a ton of air freshener. The dirty bedspread was still there. Luckly we were there just for the night.

The breakfast is ok (included), but the room is too small to accomodate all the guests.

Room tip: The rooms on the highest floor are only "half-size", since the roof takes up most of the space.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Renan_Toricelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at Hotel Akureyri, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Hey Renan_Toricelli.

I'm really sorry to hear that your stay with us was not pleasant.
Would you please send us a email with your room number and date so i can find out what went wrong. Usually our house keeping and laundry staff do an excellent job, but we are all very sorry to hear about your experience.

If you will revisit Akureyri, please give us a call or send a message. We'd really like to set things right and make it up to you.

Best regards
Hotel Akureyri staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

We made last minute booking here as we could not go to hofn due to road close and the staff was so kind and nice and helped us out. The breakfast was excellent. Got everything! The bed was super comfortable and we slept like a baby. There was a mini bar in the room as well.No stairs but they had staff to help with the lugguage if you want. The room was clean and spacious. The hotel is in the centre so its walking distance to all the bars and restaurant. One of our best stay in Iceland.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Seema5504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at Hotel Akureyri, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Hey Seema.

Thank you for kind words!
We really appreciate it :)

Hope that all of your trip was pleasant.

Best regards,
Hotel Akureyri staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

The staff was very friendly and helpful.
It is a pretty hotel but the room we stayed in was a bit small. It was also very warm and only a small window we could open.
Also there is no hot water kettle in the rooms. All of the other hotels we stayed in Iceland had a kettle in the room or hot water and coffee available in the lounge for guests.

Breakfast was decent. They did have some good bread. But the rest was standard like the other hotels we stayed at.
Plenty of parking and good location.

There is no elevator.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Service at this hotel was top notch. Quaint bar for a nightcap. Rooms were average, but very clean. Comfy beds and pillows. Only a block from shops and restaurants in the heart of town. Highly recommend this hotel for service and location.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank missamandajones10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews