We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High on hill with great views”
Review of Hotel Akureyri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Akureyri
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Parsippany, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“High on hill with great views”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This nice hotel, about a 25 minute walk down the hill (remember, it's up going back!!!) is nicely situated. The rooms are well appointed. My only disappointment was that I was hoping to have the hotel provide laundry services and they did not have any.
Food in the restaurant, both breakfast and dinner was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLiv-NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    87
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
107
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent three nights here, using it as a base to explore Akureyri, Husavik, and Myvatan. The rooms are charming (if small), stylish, and those on the front side of the building have views of the fjord (ask for room 303). The staff were helpful and charming, and the breakfast was a welcome addition. The hotel is located a quick walk away from the majority of restaurants, cafes, and shops in Akureyri, which adds to its appeal.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, ask for rooms on the front side of the hotel, which face the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filmdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalons-en-Champagne, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The good points - lovely view across the fjord - but only if you get a room at the front of the building. Think you would be a bit put out if you ended up at the back of the hotel looking out on a steep slope. Very stylish decor and comfortable beds. Breakfast very good. Staff helpful. Great location to walk to the centre and easy parking,

The not so good points. Room and bathroom small. No lifts. Fridge and safe not working and pumping out heat on what was a very hot couple of days. No tea and coffee making facilities but available at bar downstairs. Television just 2 Icelandic channels.

We stayed at the high season and it was expensive for the facilities we had but notwithstanding that we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the front of the hotel and don't forget no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is the first hotel in Iceland where I really would have loved to stay a couple of days longer. Nice room, great bed/bath & beautiful view. And best of all: somewhat of a boutique/cosy hotel. Two minutes walking from Akureyri's main street.
Super friendly an helpful staff that gave good suggestions. Finally, yummy breakfast with warm eggs and local specialities, mmm!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side look out over the fjord/mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taqqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is a short walk from the centre of Akureyri and is very quiet. It is a basic hotel with small but comfortable rooms. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. There is no lift which makes getting up to the higher floors difficult with luggage.The staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast has a good range of food. Good free wifi throughout hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building have beautiful water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieB562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our experience was so wonderful that we decided to stay an extra day! The staff found us a room at a lower rate, even during a busy week. They were helpful, outgoing, and kind in every way possible. When they found out it was our honeymoon, they even gave us a bottle of champagne on the house. The breakfast is a lovely, traditional breakfast and the rooms are cozy and clean. This has been the best part of our trip thus far, and we could not recommend this hotel and it's staff more highly!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogueMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you are looking for glitz the hotel is not for you. on the other hand if you want a small well organised older hotel this is for you. Yes the rooms are on the small side and there is no lift but hey ! what do you except in this small town in the north of Iceland. The breakfasts are ample and the wifi works fine. We used Akureyri as a base to explore the north east ....which is fine but do note that the driving distances are much further than you expect given that route 1 is little more than a narrow road which sometimes becomes a gravel road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akureyri

Property: Hotel Akureyri
Address: Hafnarstraeti 67, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akureyri 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Akureyri is a family run establishment, devoted to hospitality since 1996. Constantly evolving with the expectations and demands of our guests, our goal is to make every guests stay as memorable as possible. Please feel free contacting us if you have any questions or requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing