We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment”
Review of Hotel Ibudir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ibudir
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

All was perfect. I would return here in my next trip to Akureyri. I felt like being at home. Well positioned in the center, with a parking slot right in front of it. My only concern/suggestion is that the curtains at the bedrooms windows should he much heavier to be able to cover the summer lights (there is only 2,30 hours of "almost darkness" in the night and you need to cover your eyes if you are used to sleep in the dark (as we as Italians are :) )

Room Tip: top roof rooms are actually full apartments made of kitchen, sitting room with terrace, two bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saphira1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torshavn, Faroe Islands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The two large roof-top apartments were a perfect stay in Akureyri for our travelling group of 11 people. After a long day's trip on the road it was really nice to enter the newly renovated, clean and spacious apartments in the center of Akureyri. The rooms were really nice with comfortable beds. Outside the living room there is a balcony where we ate breakfast together and on the ground floor there is a cosy cafe. Everyone in the group was satisfied with the stay and would happily come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faroese_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This "hotel" is really about 5 or so apartment-like rooms on the second and third floors of a free standing building in the center of town. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Ours, Room 202 was a corner studio with balcony, kitchenette, dining table, large bed, reasonable bathroom, and terrace. There is flat screen television (but realize there is virtually nothing on Icelandic TV, so don't get too caught up on TVs--they usually have 4 stations playing the exact same awful program at the same time). Upon arrival, you buzz reception on an intercom and they come within a couple minutes to register you. We typically prefer traditional hotels, but this was very nice.

The only negative is that the building is surrounded by others and a parking lot and has no real views. Over the rooftops of other buildings you can see the tops of the landscape surrounding the fjord. The hotels along the fjord on the main road offer superior views (for fjord-side rooms) but their location is not as desirable in my opinion as they are just far enough from the center of things to require a couple minute car ride. The Kea, just 2 minutes walk from Ibudir is a fairly corporate looking, charmless affair that may be a better choice if you are looking for traditional hotel services in the center of town.

Downstairs from Ibudir is a wonderful coffee shop that's found a way to be hip and happening despite sharing space with a well appointed knitting store.

Room Tip: All rooms have similar views. Layouts vary by number of bedrooms. We liked 202.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kyle10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed for one night in mid July. Family of three. got a very comfortable beautifully decorated and spacious apartment. It is an unattended building ( receptionisy on an intercom) but very conveniently located. |Breakfast is nice at the next door hotel. try the nice (non related) combination wool store coffee shop on the ground floor very nice atmosphere with real vinyl records from the 80s playing. good homemade cakes

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varennes, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Ibudir for 2 nights while touring Iceland in August 2010. We arrived late after a long day of road.

ROOM
The room was very big, like a small apartment with a double bed. Modern design and decoration, we enjoyed it very much. Small bathroom though, but functional (I guess it's European standards).

LOCATION
Right downtown Akureyri, near many restaurants and attractions. We found the hotel very easily, but we had a hard time finding the reception because... there as no reception. We finally found an intercom to call reception near the entrance of the guesthouse. They unlocked the main entrance for us and our room was unlocked with the key in it. That when we realized how criminality was clearly not an issue in Iceland!

CLEANLINESS
Very clean, really no problem there.

SERVICE
While it didn't bother us that there was no actual physical reception, we would have preferred to be aware of that beforehand - it would have avoided us lots of confusion. We looked for the reception for several long minutes when we arrived.

Then, the morning after, they had told us that they would be there for breakfast, we thought it would be in the same building and after looking for the staff several other minutes, we decided to call again through the intercom (which clearly called a number outside the hotel, probably a cell phone) only to find out that the breakfast was provided in a hotel across the street. We also looked for the hotel several minutes because we had not understood the name well.

When we left, it was the same story : they were supposed to be there, but weren't. We had to call yet again only to find out that we had to leave the key in the room and that there was not need for a formal "check-out".

As mentioned before, we didn't mind that much not to see a human being, it's just that if we had known beforehand, it would have saved us a lot of time and worry.

VALUE
Hotels are not cheap in Iceland, unless you want to go for sleeping bag accommodations, so we think it was a good value and would recommend it. However, we would recommend to the hotel staff to inform their customers of how the service works to avoid confusion.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sauerkraut80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2006

Hotel Ibudir has two sites, one is apartments and the other is guesthouse accommodation, we stayed at the guesthouse accommodation for 6 nights in April 2006 and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Iceland is well known for having expensive accommodation, but Hotel Ibudir is very reasonably priced. The hotel is just of the main town sqaure and a few seconds walk from the main street.

We stayed in a double room with en-suite facilities.

The room was a great size with a large double bed,television, sofa and table. The bathroom was compact but well designed so that it did not feel small. Both the room and the bathroom were nicely decorated and spotless.

As part of the room price you also have use of a communal kitchen which was cleaned every day. There was a great coffee machine, a kettle, a large fridge with seperate shelves assigned to each room as well as a 'communal' part for milk etc, a toaster and a microwave. This was all invaluable when coming in from the snow and needing to warm up with a cup of tea!

There was also a laptop in the hallway with Internet access for guests to use (no charge - but connection was a bit intermittent!)

The only potential downside for some people (but not for us as we preferred this!) was that the rooms were not cleaned daily like they are in hotels. We felt this was a plus side as we could really make ourselves at home and relax!

This may not be the first choice if you want pampering and luxury, but if you want nice, comfortable accommodation at a great price then you can not go far wrong with this hotel.

Helpful?
20 Thank Snoops30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibudir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibudir

Property: Hotel Ibudir
Address: Geislagata 10, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ibudir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing