We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a big dorm room feeling hotel. It's nice but not amazingly fancy or anything. They had one of the best breakfast buffets of all the places I stayed at in Iceland. Good price, clean, mostly dark rooms, very good overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank droobage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 246 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Dormitory style rooms that was really small, uncomfortable beds and dirty. Said on they're website that they had double bed but was not the case, first night ever that me and my wife slept in seperate beds. It's cheap but not worth it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Edda hotels are basically school internates, which are transformed into hotels in the summer.
You should have this in your mind when booking rooms in the old part of the hotel (Edda, not Edda+).
So the rooms might not be luxurious, but really ok. Clean, quiet, the shared facilities also clean and nicely decorated, the staff really helpful.
A big plus of course are the waffles at breakfast!
Wifi was good in the "living room" area.
We have been to Edda hotels before and will get back there any time without hesitation...

Room Tip: Edda+ rooms are bigger, with private facilities, but also cost more accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Beate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Would highly recommend. I found all of the 3 Hotel Edda locations I stayed at, including this one, very clean, nice staff. Beds are comfortable, and room was very spaceous. Breakfast was wonderful and food was fresh, even a waffle maker to make waffles if you want them. Staff were helpful with things to do and restaurants to recommend. I would definitely stay here again. Rates seemed reasonable for size of city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

There are 2 parts of this hotel. The newer half has larger suites with private bathrooms. We stayed in the older half with the shared bathrooms. We were there during high season and barely heard a peep out of other guests. I'm not even sure if anyone else was staying in our corridor. This meant no competition for the bathroom, which was a major bonus. I assume it's just because the hotel is so large and the town is at a very northern point of the country so it doesn't see as much tourism as the more southern areas. The room was a good size with 2 single beds, a desk, chair, plenty of shelves, and a sink. A bit of a hike downhill to get downtown, but it's a beautiful walk. Especially if you detour through the public park and botanic garden to the southeast of the hotel. The lobby area is nice, as are the staff. Very professional lodging. We'd been staying in hostels most of our trip but I'm really glad we coughed up a few extra bucks to stay at this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveKeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our experience was that the rooms and service were very basic at best. No elevator, no internet, no breakfast, very old and basic rooms, in a building that resembles the outskirts of an eastern european city in the seventies. Also, no clean sheets and towels the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the New building on westwing, the other one has not been updated since the early s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

this hotel is a chain which accomodates school children in the off season. It,s basic but good value as Iceland is horrendously expensive. I paid £60 per night for a small single room with shared bathroom,breakfast not included. However, the lovely botanic gardens are just in front of the hotel and the delightful Bjorg coffee house there serves unlimited coffee for 4 krone. The marvellous swimming pool is only 5 minutes walk away. Friendly,helpful staff,nice reception and lounge areas

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igor186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
37 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Akureyri

Address: Hrafnagilsstraeti, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range: $141 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Akureyri 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open 18 June to 28 August. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edda - Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Akureyri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing