We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Would highly recommend. I found all of the 3 Hotel Edda locations I stayed at, including this one, very clean, nice staff. Beds are comfortable, and room was very spaceous. Breakfast was wonderful and food was fresh, even a waffle maker to make waffles if you want them. Staff were helpful with things to do and restaurants to recommend. I would definitely stay here again. Rates seemed reasonable for size of city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 246 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

There are 2 parts of this hotel. The newer half has larger suites with private bathrooms. We stayed in the older half with the shared bathrooms. We were there during high season and barely heard a peep out of other guests. I'm not even sure if anyone else was staying in our corridor. This meant no competition for the bathroom, which was a major bonus. I assume it's just because the hotel is so large and the town is at a very northern point of the country so it doesn't see as much tourism as the more southern areas. The room was a good size with 2 single beds, a desk, chair, plenty of shelves, and a sink. A bit of a hike downhill to get downtown, but it's a beautiful walk. Especially if you detour through the public park and botanic garden to the southeast of the hotel. The lobby area is nice, as are the staff. Very professional lodging. We'd been staying in hostels most of our trip but I'm really glad we coughed up a few extra bucks to stay at this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveKeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our experience was that the rooms and service were very basic at best. No elevator, no internet, no breakfast, very old and basic rooms, in a building that resembles the outskirts of an eastern european city in the seventies. Also, no clean sheets and towels the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the New building on westwing, the other one has not been updated since the early s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

this hotel is a chain which accomodates school children in the off season. It,s basic but good value as Iceland is horrendously expensive. I paid £60 per night for a small single room with shared bathroom,breakfast not included. However, the lovely botanic gardens are just in front of the hotel and the delightful Bjorg coffee house there serves unlimited coffee for 4 krone. The marvellous swimming pool is only 5 minutes walk away. Friendly,helpful staff,nice reception and lounge areas

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igor186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

In Iceland student homes are commonly hotels (e.g., the whole Edda group) in the main season. However, for that price it should definitely offer a better standard.
1.) there's no wlan available (!) and the inet in the lobby is liable to pay costs.
2.) the buffet is really good, but too small yielding long queues if many groups stay in the hotel. As many other buffets, the food is only kept warm and might be cold when you'll arrive back at your table. On the contrary, the breakfast buffet was excellent!
3.) The rooms in the ground floor (1XXX) might be ideal for window shopping, but are no good if you don't like to share your privacy with passersby. In our room we had an outdated small TV with little to none reception quality. However, we had a fridge and a microwave in our room and it was really big.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms at the ground floor (1XXX)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciboxx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It kind of felt like I was in college again, but my dorm probably wasn't so clean... Basic rooms, but clean and comfortable. Close to the botanical garden and the supermarket. Easy walk to the town center.

Room Tip: We were in the older wing, but it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel takes over the student residences when the students are home. It has two sections, a modern newly furnished site, see previous comments below, and an older residence. We stayed in the older residences as the hotel was otherwise fully booked. Our room had two single beds, whilst this is classed as a double they can not be connected, and are at opposite walls. So if your wanting a romantic venture maybe avoid the older rooms lol.

Otherwise the room was clean, had towels, shampoo and glasses. The showers and toilets were at the end of the corridor, and were clean and the shower was very powerful. There is a bar with snooker tables, and a leather settee and tv at the end of each corridor.

You have to sit in the communal parts for WiFi access for which there is a charge. The communal areas are very cean and well presented and in keeping with nice hotel lobby.

I have a travel kettle as I like to make a cuppa etc, there are only glasses and no cups, so you my want to take some or buy disposable ones from bonus which is a cheap supermarket 1 min drive from the hotel. Avoid 1011 much more expensive as can be read on google.

The staff are young probably students, but they are so friendly and helpful.

Akureryi I feel is nicer than reykjavik, it was a good location for accessing Husavik just a leisurely 75 min drive away. Although akureryi as a good whale watching tour company, we decided to do a 3 day multipass trip with north sailing see my review where we saw humpbacks on every trip and each trip was truly fantastic.

I was so impressed with this hotel as I rang to ask in advance if they could ensure staff could be aware that my husband has a gluten allergy and sesame allergy so that we would know what he could eat etc. To our surprise they obtained gluten free bread and clearly labelled it which was a nice touch. The breakfast is well worth the money, the rest array of continental breakfast I ever have seen. I can recommend the waffles you make them fresh in a machine and the fruit chutney is amazing.

The only downer is that this hotel is very popular with coach tours and twice it was difficult to get a seat, the staff worked very hard to try and clear places for you. We got up early to drive to husavik so hat we could get three whale watching trips in per day so if you had a lie in you would have no bother as the coaches leave early.

We were not in our room long as we were out all day so the room was adequate for our needs and as I say the breakfast awesome, thank you hotel edda.


Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank orca111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
206 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Akureyri

Address: Hrafnagilsstraeti, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range: $136 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Akureyri 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open 18 June to 28 August. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edda - Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Akureyri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing