We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Ambassador Whale Watching
from $100.22
More Info
from $193.19
More Info
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
310
46
11
8
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
310
46
11
8
16
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 391 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2019 via mobile

Great tour with very educated staff. Did seem like a lot of the tour was travel time, but there are beautiful sights to go along with it. We were able to see humpbacks and Minke whales and they were gorgeous..you could tell how respectful and educated the staff were about protecting wildlife, I really appreciated this. The day we went we barely had to leave the “bay” area, so it was very calm. But, the tour guide said sometimes it is rough out so keep Gravol in mind if you choose to go on the trip.
Another addition was the warm floater suits you were provided with which we really loved! Recommend warm footwear (not running shoes). If you get cold there is a nice inside seating area that you can still sit in and enjoy the view. I wore enough clothing I could stay outside and enjoy the wildlife/birdlife.
Hot chocolate is offered with a few.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank kassklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorWhaleWatch, Manager at Ambassador Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2019

Dear kassklm,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We're glad you enjoyed tour time with us.

All the best,
The Akureyri Whale Watching team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2018 via mobile

Very nice tour.. The sheer number of whales you encounter is exciting.. The winter suit provided is warm. Overall, highly recommended

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank krgonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Lucky for us the trip was in great sunny weather (although it was chilly of course) showing off the beautiful scenery as we travelled towards the sea in search of whales. We were not disappointed. The boat got us amongst the humpbacks within the first hour. We saw several of them sometimes in pairs and on occasion were very close to them. One actually jumped out of the water putting on a spectacular splash. Several gave a fantastic view of their tails as they deep-dived. Three hours passed in a flash. An unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Lucky for us the trip was in great sunny weather (although it was chilly of course) showing off the beautiful scenery as we travelled towards the sea in search of whales. We were not disappointed. The boat got us amongst the humpbacks within the first hour. We saw several of them sometimes in pairs and on occasion were very close to them. One actually jumped out of the water putting on a spectacular splash. Several gave a fantastic view of their tails as they deep-dived. Three hours passed in a flash. An unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

The tour goes through the fijord and you get a good view of Akureyri from the water. The guide points out sights along the way that you would otherwise not notice. They do not guarantee that they will find whales, but we found a pair coasting along side by side and followed them. They never did any amazing tail shows but nevertheless, rose to the surface. It was a beautiful outing and the crew on the boat were very courteous. Dress warmly. If you get too cold, there are chairs in a covered enclsoed area where you can still observe the whales on the outside.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Dee_in_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews