We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Ambassador Whale Watching tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Akureyri
from $92.00
More Info
from $113.22
More Info
from $113.22
More Info
from $182.00
More Info
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
301
43
8
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
301
43
8
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales boat tour marine biologist great tour three hours great company sunny day captain fjord boats opportunities clothing excitement overalls viewing suits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 370 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Lucky for us the trip was in great sunny weather (although it was chilly of course) showing off the beautiful scenery as we travelled towards the sea in search of whales. We were not disappointed. The boat got us amongst the humpbacks within the first hour. We saw several of them sometimes in pairs and on occasion were very close to them. One actually jumped out of the water putting on a spectacular splash. Several gave a fantastic view of their tails as they deep-dived. Three hours passed in a flash. An unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

We spent most of our time in between 2 whales and 1 by itself , the captain wouldn’t commit and we watched in envy the other boats and tour groups enjoying close up encounter of the whales, this tour was most expensive and without doubt the worse of the lot

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sarahnewcastleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

I returned exactly one year later to experience again the whales of Akureyri. No disappointment, only more joy. The staff were wonderful, as usual. The especially knowledgeable Jerry was the guide on my extreme whale watch. Water was a little rough that day, but we all were safe and enjoyed the excitement of our adventure with the whales. I highly recommend whale watching while in Akureyri!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank drjg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

My son and I booked the regular 3 hour tour, not the small fast boat. We ended up having to go pretty far out to the end of the fjord to see whales so we were glad we were on the warmer and more comfortable boat. In the end, we saw two humpback whales so it was worth it. Our guide was really knowledgeable and talkative. We got a 10% discount by mentioning our hotel. A beautiful but long ride. Ask the shop how the whales are running before going out. We did the 2PM tour.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Headmaster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

We took the small boat tour in the evening and ended up being the only two people on that tour. It was 2 hours long and we went out into the fjord to where the whales were swimming.

We were moving right along and all of a sudden there were whales everywhere. We actually got to see one of them breach! It was so impressive that it was worthy of National Geographic. Our guide, who was a marine biologist, said that is rare to see.

Highly recommend this tour. It’s worth the money for the smaller tour because you can see all sides around the boat, so you don’t miss anything.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank beachbuminohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews