We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Ambassador Whale Watching
from $101.02
More Info
from $194.74
More Info
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
310
46
11
8
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
310
46
11
8
16
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 391 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Lucky for us the trip was in great sunny weather (although it was chilly of course) showing off the beautiful scenery as we travelled towards the sea in search of whales. We were not disappointed. The boat got us amongst the humpbacks within the first hour. We saw several of them sometimes in pairs and on occasion were very close to them. One actually jumped out of the water putting on a spectacular splash. Several gave a fantastic view of their tails as they deep-dived. Three hours passed in a flash. An unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Lucky for us the trip was in great sunny weather (although it was chilly of course) showing off the beautiful scenery as we travelled towards the sea in search of whales. We were not disappointed. The boat got us amongst the humpbacks within the first hour. We saw several of them sometimes in pairs and on occasion were very close to them. One actually jumped out of the water putting on a spectacular splash. Several gave a fantastic view of their tails as they deep-dived. Three hours passed in a flash. An unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

The tour goes through the fijord and you get a good view of Akureyri from the water. The guide points out sights along the way that you would otherwise not notice. They do not guarantee that they will find whales, but we found a pair coasting along side by side and followed them. They never did any amazing tail shows but nevertheless, rose to the surface. It was a beautiful outing and the crew on the boat were very courteous. Dress warmly. If you get too cold, there are chairs in a covered enclsoed area where you can still observe the whales on the outside.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Dee_in_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

I have mixed reviews of this tour. We did see a whale, as promised, but we literally chased the same whale the entire 3-hour tour. I really expected after we saw it twice or so we would move on and see about finding another. We did not. We saw the same humpback whale breach and dive back down to feed like 10 times. It was cool and I am glad I got to see a whale, but I wished we could have moved on and seen more. I get that they would probably rather guarantee more sightings with the same whale than taking the risk on going out to find more and not, but it would have been more exciting to go see more, to me at least. Also, I really expected it to be a smaller tour and it appeared as though we were combined with another tour company on a much larger boat.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Hollaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

We spent most of our time in between 2 whales and 1 by itself , the captain wouldn’t commit and we watched in envy the other boats and tour groups enjoying close up encounter of the whales, this tour was most expensive and without doubt the worse of the lot

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sarahnewcastleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews