We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Ambassador Whale Watching tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Akureyri
from $92.00
More Info
from $113.22
More Info
from $113.22
More Info
from $182.00
More Info
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
301
43
8
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
301
43
8
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales boat tour marine biologist great tour three hours great company sunny day captain fjord boats opportunities clothing excitement overalls viewing suits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 370 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

My son and I booked the regular 3 hour tour, not the small fast boat. We ended up having to go pretty far out to the end of the fjord to see whales so we were glad we were on the warmer and more comfortable boat. In the end, we saw two humpback whales so it was worth it. Our guide was really knowledgeable and talkative. We got a 10% discount by mentioning our hotel. A beautiful but long ride. Ask the shop how the whales are running before going out. We did the 2PM tour.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Headmaster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

We took the small boat tour in the evening and ended up being the only two people on that tour. It was 2 hours long and we went out into the fjord to where the whales were swimming.

We were moving right along and all of a sudden there were whales everywhere. We actually got to see one of them breach! It was so impressive that it was worthy of National Geographic. Our guide, who was a marine biologist, said that is rare to see.

Highly recommend this tour. It’s worth the money for the smaller tour because you can see all sides around the boat, so you don’t miss anything.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank beachbuminohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

We had a great experience with the blonde young lady at the Desk , she went over and above to help us try to find a tour that fit our schedule. The pride in the front staff shows the quality of an operation!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank TravelSoloLCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

I am writing this review as somehow my original review on their FB page disappeared (They only want good reviews?). I was advertised with the boat, Ambassador, before they updated their boat lists on their website. The actual day we only see the Konsull, described on their website as a former ferry. This contradicts with their information in their 'about' section already such as "...boats custom designed for whale watching" and "...multiple whale watching platforms". We saw whales but it was a tiny boat with pointy head, so the front can only accoummodate 6-8 person, these people will also occupy this area for the whole trip because obviously it is the best spot on the boat. If you can't get those spots, you'll most likely be looking at multiple heads for the whole trip and forget about getting nice photos, so make sure you know which boat you'll get. That day I saw another boat from another company (red color), their boat is a catamaran which means the viewing dock is squared, its equipped with 2 floors/deck in the front and another at the top and another at the back, and goes further out the fjord. That was when I regretted choosing this company.

TLDR: Make sure you know which boat you'll get. Don't go with the Konsull, but if you must, make sure you get the limited spots in the front.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Kaneth25341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

One of the best excursion we did in Northern Iceland. We were on the 1st boat tour of the season in early May 2017! The staffs are nice and the boat was nice and clean. After about 45min-1hr, we spotted 3 humpbacks around the area! It was a wonderful day. Highly recommended! Great company!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank JT H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews