We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing adventure”

Viking Rafting - Day Trips
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.61*
and up
Family Rafting Day Trip from Hafgrímsstaðir: Grade 2 White Water Rafting on the...
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the newest face of north Iceland's original rafting company, now 100% owned and operated by the same guides that take you down the river everyday! Our passion for paddling is stronger than ever, as is our commitment to providing the most fun and professional service in the industry. We invite you to join our smiling guides for the ultimate river adventure in Iceland!
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing adventure”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A friend talked me into doing the Beast of the East rafting day, it's not something I'd usually do but I absolutely loved it. The guides we had were all so professional and chilled out, explained everything really well and made the whole day really enjoyable. Fred was the guide on our boat and was awesome. Would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Iceland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service. Great guides.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent experience with viking rafting. The guides have a great sense of humor. Lots of patience. Very professional. They made sure we were dressed properly and even had some clothes to offer since all we had were jeans.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Vikings rule "The beast of the East".”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

When planning our trip to Iceland, Beorg the manager of "Viking Rafting", raved about joining them for her "Solstice Festival" and midnight rafting trip on "The Beast of the East". We were so happy that she took so much time and care to help us plan our time there. Being with Beorg, her daughter, the guides (especially our guide Deepak) and everyone attending her "Solstice Festival" was one of the highlights of our time in Iceland. Their sweetness and concern for our time with them was representative of what we discovered wherever we went in Iceland. Rafting the "Beast of the East", at 12:00 midnight, on the night of the Solstice was simply the icing on the cake. Deepak's white water experience and positive spirit succeeded in our concurring the "Beast" without ever going over, but with all the excitement that it was always a possibility. We would also like to thank the family living above the gorge who made the waffles, chocolate and whip cream that descended down the cliff pulley system for us to enjoy. Being located in the beautiful Varmahlid valley only adds to the entire experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeGardnerWinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The best excursion we did in Iceland”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 10 days driving round the ring road. This was the best thing we did. Our kids aged 14,15 and 16 loved it. The guides were great and the whole organisation too. We especially loved the chance the float down the river and also to jump off the rock. We did the family ride on teh west river. We will be back in 4 years to attempt the east river!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“AMAZING”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

From a first time rafter and former military member, this experience challenged me, in an amazing way though. The whole team was great in their instruction, support and delivery. Words cannot describe how it felt after we were done. I recommend these guys to take anyone down the rapids!

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Rafting - Day Trips also viewed

Varmahlid, Northwest Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 

Been to Viking Rafting - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing