We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
20
30
22
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
30
22
3
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 78 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2016

The place is clean, rooms are good with nice view to the mountains, there's is a kitchen for personal use and public dining room.
Wifi has no reception what so ever in our rooms.
Breakfast was not served but placed in a basket in the refrigerator, was not so good..

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank snorka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Well in its favour is that it is literally just a few yards from the town centre's main street and the rooms are large. It also has a very good kitchen. The problems that it has are: you can't park outside the hotel until later in the day due to on-street parking restrictions; the double bed was the smallest one we experienced on our trip in Iceland; if you take a breakfast it is delivered in a basket the night before (this can be a positive if you're leaving very early). In our opinion it needs updating as it is starting to look a bit tired. Note that you have to ring a phone number to be met to be let in - good idea is to ring and then to go and get a coffee and meet at a set time,saves waiting outside the door.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ali921
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Pros:
Lovely guesthouse with a homey feel. Super close to town center, 5 min walk at most. Shops and restaurants also in walking distance. Loved the overall feel of the home, very clean, nice decor, well equipped kitchen. I had the upstairs bedroom in the corner so had 2 nice bright windows. An older home with neat architectural details and wood floors. A selection of toiletries in the WC were very thoughtful.

Cons:
The walls are very thin so the first night I had chatty neighbours and could hear every word. As well, the bedroom doors lock automatically so you must have your key with you at all times. These locks are quite loud when they close so if anyone is in and out of the bedroom during the night you hear it all! No neighbors the second night, so had a great sleep.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SherryB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Although centrally located, Gula Villan Guesthouse is quite overpriced for its value. The beds are ok and the rooms are nice, but the bathrooms are shared and for the high price we paid, breakfast definitely should have been included (since its apparently a B&B). Also, there wasn't much space to relax.

I'd say that we should've paid about half of what they charged us. If there are other places in town, I'd stay there first. This was our most expensive stay in Iceland.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank NorthernWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

Grate location few steps from city center.
The kitchen is very well equipped with free coffee.
Our room was spacious in the ground floor.
Close to the public thermal pool.
Easy to get from the main road.

Room tip: ask for ground floor
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YC468
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews