We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fascinating

This was a very interesting stop. The farmhouse is well cared for and decorated with period... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2018
ewymer
,
Youngstown, Ohio
Great way to see Icelandic History

The Old Farmhouse Laufas is a unique way to see how some Icelandic people lived in the mid 19th... read more

Reviewed September 25, 2018
Judy H
,
Sylvania, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 145 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Akureyri
from $102.00
More Info
from $274.20
More Info
from $169.60
More Info
from $231.20
More Info
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
87
51
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
51
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turf houses gift shop icelandic history interesting view self guided tour cafe next door earlier times last century timber building small cemetery closed for the season folk museum beautiful place to visit admission fee on display great museum beautiful church
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 145 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you look on google maps, you'll probably get something which is in the middle of akuyeyri which is incorrect. I found out the hard way! Laufas is past the city when you're driving east on the ring road. It's interesting to take a look at the houses since they are truly traditional and very well maintained. i walked around and took pictures for about 20 minutes as it looked like there was nobody else around.

Thank hum823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Christmas at Laufás was a great success and my wife and two boys enjoyed themselves. Volunteers were dressed up in traditional clothes performing traditional roles. Roles such as making candles using sheep's fat, playing Púkk a card game and you could play too, making laufabraud, etc. Guests could taste traditional food and drinks and part-take in activities.

1  Thank Einar-Thor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There is so little of old Iceland to see: when modern homes and materials came along, the old homes were quickly abandoned and demolished. However, the splendid turf houses at Laufas remain as fascinating example of how people lived here up until 70 years ago. We were impressed and grateful that, although the houses were officially closed for the season, the custodian opened them up especially for us, and then shared her extensive knowledge about the history of the place and the people who lived there. Well worth the short detour north of the ring road.

6  Thank MarkandIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

During our stay near Akureyri, the hotel manager recommended we visit the Old Farmhouse at Laufas. In my research prior to the trip, I had not found this attraction and we are so grateful for the suggestion! This is an extremely interesting site with a large turf house dating from the19th century that has been added on to several times and is partially furnished with period furnishing. There is also a church and small cemetery. We were fortunate that someone was there to show us around since it is not always open during the off season. You could see how the turf was laid from the outside of the buildings and a visit to the cemetery was fascinating because of the Icelandic way of naming children using the father's name. Admission to the museum was approximately 7000 Kr and was well worth the price. We felt this was a wonderful example of an open air museum and it shouldn't be missed.

6  Thank MoBec915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews