We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worn an torn but OK low class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Iceland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worn an torn but OK low class hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night in August 2012. We arrived late and left early, so we just wanted somewhere to sleep. We chose this hotel because the price was considerable lower than on other hotels in the area. Actually when I phoned the hotel and asked for the price they said 25.900 ISK, but then I decided to take a look at Hotels.com and there they quoted 17.900 ISK for the night.

The good:
+ Located only 5 minutes walk from the town center but in a quiet area.
+ Surprisingly good breakfast buffet.
+ Price
+ Spacious bathroom
+ Spotlessly clean

The bad:
- Looks tired - Carpets worn
- Small room
- Very small, old tube TV with distorted image
- Poor sound insulation between rooms
- Stiff mattresses

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveling_Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    64
    29
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
64
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was the worse hotel we found in Iceland. Rooms were in a separate building on the other side of the street. Small rooms, not clean, old furniture, bad towels, durty bathroom and durty moquette...very bad feeling.
You have to take the luggages up to the first floor using stairs...it was not a problem for us but good to know...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erminio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Met our needs and more. We had a good size room at the end of the hallway from the main reception area including kitchen facility. It seemed to be an "addition", as it had an updated look.
Centrally located and within easy walking distance amenities. Breakfast is standard as throughout Iceland..hard boiled eggs, cold cuts, choices of bread, yogurt etc. Wi-Fi available in small lobby and included as per norm throughout all Iceland hotels.
Parking is free anywhere from 4pm to 10 am. We were lucky to get a spot right in front of the hotel. Staff was welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mshjournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,736 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,072 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed on the second floor (first for European count) of this hotel for two nights and found the room to be average at best. It was small, needed to be updated and had a balcony that overlooked a parking lot. The soiled carpeting had a strand of dental floss on it in a corner and it was never removed by Housekeeping during our stay. The shower spewed only cold water and we were told to run one of the sink faucets to get hot water in the shower. The building has no elevator so we needed to ascend a long flight of stairs, dragging heavy luggage, to reach our room. Our twin beds were quite comfortable, however, and our rear location meant a quiet space during a noisy weekend in the city. The heavy drapes blocked the 24/7 sunlight beautifully so we did not need eye shades in order to sleep.

The hotel charges to use wi-fi in rooms but offers it for free in the lobby area, so we opted to go to the lobby. There is also a computer there for guests to use free of charge. A free buffet breakfast came with the room and had a vast array of selections, including fresh fruit, breads, meat, cheese and cereals. The hotel's location is excellent for getting around the city on foot.

The service was absolutely superb. Everyone at the desk proved to be friendly and helpful. One woman even did our laundry for us at no charge and had it back to us within a couple of hours. We were impressed with the way staff responded to our various requests.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

room is very small. art is horrid . dont drink tap water theres a strong sulfur smell

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownfootedboobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

Rooms:
Are clean and spacious.
Have a coffee maker and fridge for the use at your convenience.
A free of charge internet terminal is at the lobby. Also WiFi Access free of charge around the lobby area. (just ask for the key to access!)
There is a small desk in the room.
Haid Dryer is also available.

The rooms to the street are a bit noise at times - as people tend to party late at night in the summer. We were there whilst they had some car festival in town... Luckily we had ear plugs with us ;)

Service:
The lobby was great and helped us with our questions at their best in a very friendly manner. THANKS!
Std. continental breakfast do not expect too much.

Location:
The hotel is directly in the middle of town. With easy access to the Botanical Garden, Chruch and shopping street.

Parking is availble in front of the door. Thought from 10 thru 4pm you need to buy a parking ticket.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2004

We stayed here 2 nights in June 2004. The bedroom was very small; the bathroom good-sized with a roomy shower. Street noise was obvious. Location was good for nearby shops and restaurants. Restaurant was not open while we were there.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels

Property: Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Address: Geislagata 7, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nordurland is located in the centre of Akureyri town. Plenty of restaurants, bars, cafes, and shops are in the neighbourhood. The hotel has 41 rooms all equipped with private bathrooms, telephone, coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV and radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing