We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Centrally located, peaceful, no noise of any kind. Decent breakfast. Room a little more so so, stained carpets, not the best cleaners in the world. Helpful front desk. Good book shop across the street, short walk to pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevberget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    260
    121
    19
    7
See reviews for
72
272
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,039 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed 3 nights at this hotel and used it as a base camp for exploring North Iceland. It means, we only arrived late at night, slept, left early in the morning after having breakfast. From this point of view, this hotel met our expectations. First of all, it's centrally located (however, every place is central in Akureyri, it's quite small). Reception and lobby are both modern, nicely decorated. Rooms are small, at least the one we stayed in was very small. So was the bathroom. Decoration at the room was not reflecting that of lobby or reception, it was rather old. Though our room looked to the stairs leading to the church, we were not disturbed of noise and the beds were very confortable. Sleep wise, it was a good choice. Free wi-fi was available only at the lobby, which was a downside. We had dinner only one night: there are two restaurants in the hotel, one is fancier but for large tourist groups like ours, they used the other one which rather looks like a school cafeteria. The meals were definitely not the best we had in Iceland. Breakfast was disappointing, few options, not tasting well. My husband even got sick after having some sausages at breakfast, so next day, we avoided all hams and meat products at breakfast. As for the staff, we did not encounter any problems on that side. Akureyri is a lovely city, I would prefer a hotel which would reflect its overall Icelandic ambiance but the alternatives for our big group were limited. Yes, we had good sleep, but I would also like some more confort and pluses in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TubaKoseogluOkcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is great for getting around town and the staff is very nice. However, the room we had was quite flawed. There were no draws in the room to put our clothing and the shower had no shelf for soap or shampoo. The room was too hot and was located right next to the church steps next door. The steps also lead to another part of town, so we were annoyed by people talking at two in the morning. Our tour spent three nights at this hotel and we couldnt wait for them to go by. I realize that the tour I was on books standard rooms, but this one was sub standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

our room was tiny and the shower even smaller. It was clean but hard to get around once luggage was open. Bed was very comfortable. Nice lobby and helpful staff. Great bar and lounge area. Situated in center of city which was convenient. Can be loud at night with close by bars depending on room location. Better off on waterside of hotel. Large buffet breakfast with meats,cheeses,fish, breads etc. in a large dining room that accommodated everyone. Would stay again but check room first. I gather some of the rooms are much bigger than ours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel twice already and will be happy to go back. Nice large rooms especially compared to other accomodations I've used in Iceland. Staff was always polite and helpful.
The rooms we used had very pleasant views, over the mountains and the cute city center, although I guess the rooms on the first floor are to be avoided.
Worth of note, the hotel offers very convenient connecting rooms, and the suite is nice as well with high ceiling in the living room and a balcony- can't be connected but this time we used it with the kids, adding a small bed in the living room. It gets a bit noisy with the cars outide sometimes, as the hotel is right in the middle of town, but we did apreciate to be a few seconds to a couple of minutes away from shops and restaurants.
I could write pages on how nice is the area around Akureyri, looking forward to go back although we might start to focus on different parts of Iceland.
Also I found the hotel priced reasonnably in summer, and very cheap off season..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kojis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Il
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were on a tour of Iceland with Adventures Abroad. I would have rated the hotel "excellent" if it hadn't been for the difficulty in finding it: elevator to third floor, down a corridor, up some stairs to another elevator then down to floor 0. Once we made it to our room we were absolutely thrilled, one of the largest, best decorated room we've had in all of our travels around the world. The bathroom was large with a heating rack for the towels. The shower head was excellent. We won the room lottery! The breakfast buffet was adequate. I was concerned about the fire safety issue since I didn't notice any way to get to the outside. The staff was very helpful. Our phone didn't work and the desk person came to the room to fix it. Wi fi was free, which these days is a big plus for travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We returned to Hotel Kea for one night in June 2013.

The room we got was on the 5th floor with great views to city and fjord, modern and stylish décor and enough space. The bathroom again was not that new, but good and clean – 5 points for the room. It was quiet at night, beds were comfortable.

Staff was friendly and professional…!! We experienced this to be a somehow exceptional feature in Iceland 2013….

The breakfast buffet itself is still good. They now changed the room for the breakfast from the basement floor (see former review) to the ground floor, which is a slight improvement only, as the new room is as run-down with cheap looking furniture as the one before was. Still highly frequented by bus group tourists and the related ambience….. We had breakfast in the bar area, the room just before you enter the large breakfast room, much better, although the cleaning staff decided to not care about us sitting there and to wipe the floor INTENSIVELY all around us including banging against our chairs while we were sitting there – breakfast ambience therefore 2 points, but choice of items 4 points, so all in all 3 points for the breakfast.

5 points for the room, 3 for the breakfast: overall 4!

We can recommend this hotel and would come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
187 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
79 reviews
4.2 mi away
Skjaldarvik Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kea by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kea by Keahotels

Property: Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Address: Hafnarstraeti, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kea by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid 20th-century hotel located in the heart of Akureyri, the gateway to the rich natural splendor of northeast Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kea by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kea Hotel Akureyri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing