We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Once we arrive, we were told that our room is upgraded as anniversary gift! Great and warm!
Because of impassable road to Myvatn, we have to stay in kea for 1 more night, the manager ( I think he is) a nice gentleman helped us to settle the car rental arrangement and finally we got a very good 4 wheels car with a very reasonable price for entire of our jounery!
Kea also get a very good location!

Room Tip: Don't choose the room face the main street if you love quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 585 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is our third time at this hotel. I was here with my 12 year old daughter and her friend we bought a 3 day packet with 2 three course meals and breakfast. Rooms are nice and clean and the hotel has a nice atmosphere. The hotel staff is exceptionally helpful and nice and the restaurant is possibly the best around Iceland. We had to spend an extra night because of a snowstorm had closed the road to Reykjavik. The staff helped us sort it out and we got a big discount for our unplanned extension. This is a great value for money and the location is the best in Akureyri.

Room Tip: I think the top rooms might be more quit but over all there is not a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingibjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel is right in the center of Akureyri and close to everything:-) Rooms clean and modern, professional lobby service, breakfast buffet with good variety.
Quite expensive, as everything in Iceland :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewelina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights through the icelandair package. The hotel located in town, perfect location. Room are clean, comfortable and mordern. Staff were very helpful and polite. And Free Wifi in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here three nights in September, 2012 while we explored Northern Iceland. Hotel choice is limited in Akureyri, but you will be satisfied with this property. The location is central and you can walk to shopping, restaurants, etc. You are right by route one, so it is easy to find by car. Others have mentioned the free wifi and the nice breakfast selection. The hotel staff is helpful. The hotel was fairly busy with several tours, but there was no strain on the facility. Rooms were adequately sized with plenty of light. All-in-all a good hotel choice. If you are driving, it looks like there is not enough parking, but it was never a problem for us.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage ask for an elevator accessable room. The hotel has several wings/levels a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnbob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to see the North of Iceland and we were not disappointed. The staff were fabulous and helpful down to making sure our room was exactly as needed having had a teen with us. The town altogether was lovely and I highly recommend this hotel as it is at the center of it all!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaPattenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days, it is really close to the city center. Super comfortable. Actually the biggest room I had while in Iceland. The hotel staff was helpful with city tips and the breakfast had quite a variety of items to choose from.

Room Tip: I liked my room because it faced the water and the mountain which was a really lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kea by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kea by Keahotels

Address: Hafnarstraeti, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range: $140 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kea by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid 20th-century hotel located in the heart of Akureyri, the gateway to the rich natural splendor of northeast Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kea by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kea Hotel Akureyri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing