We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights. Hotel was quite basic, looked like it needed a bit of updating. As with most of Iceland, it was not inexpensive. Rooms were quite small, we had a superior with a view and balcony, but the rooms were quite warm. Breakfast was good. Akureyi is a small place, and this was nicely located at one end of the main street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    246
    109
    16
    7
See reviews for
68
246
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
257 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Located very centrally in Akureyri, walking street, harbour and other attractivities are very close, even the town's swimming area (you know the hot waters in swimming pools in Iceland). Nice rooms with shower - of my mind reasonable size rooms. Good breakfast, free internet.

Room Tip: Choose Upper floors, some windows of the 3rd floor centre site are almost on the stairs of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maari100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in Hotel Kea. Loved the location, where everything was in walking distance. The drawback was the size of the room. With our luggage in the room, we could hardly turn around. Also, in my opinion, the beds were not firm enough (but that is a personal thing). This was our base for northen Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very good and in the central district so a great location. Good breakfast. We did not eat there for dinner. It was a nice change from the hotel In Myvtan.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

As usual, without an opportunity to stay in other properties (or rooms) and the occasion for return visits to one under scrutiny, reviews are often subjectively circumstantial. Hotel Kea was fine, but not memorable: Excellent location for shops, harbor, sights, restaurants, even airport access. Comfortable rooms, although inferior, tubless, cramped bathroom. Standard, unimaginative Icelandic hotel buffet breakfast- surprisingly lacking fish dishes and special order items, limited pastries, and, not at all surprising, in view of the contant influx of tourist buses, frequent waits for replenishment of offerings on the tables. The espresso machine was appreciated, but, as usual, there was nodecaffeinated coffee. Front desk personnel were inconsistent in demeanor and enthusiasm, but not unpleasant. Our hotel experience did not detract from our visit to scenic Akureyri, which we used as a base to explore the spectacular Lake Myvatn area, Dimmuborgir (lava formations), Namaaskard (bubbling mud pits), Dettifoss (waterfall), Jardbodin (geothermal natural baths), and other inticements to spend a least two nights here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SALMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent one night at Hotel Kea in May 2012.

The hotel is in a good central location, near the church, harbour and shops. We arrived shortly after 4pm and so managed to grab one of the restricted parking spaces next to the hotel. However, the amount of free parking is limited. Free wifi was available which was much appreciated.

The room was reasonably spacious and modern, with a view of the harbour from the balcony, however the bathroom looked outdated in comparison.

We took advantage of the room service and had a really good meal. The breakfast the following morning was also varied and hit the spot.

Overall, a good stay, but I'd expect it to be for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie247772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed one night at this town centre hotel, located near church. Very convenient for shops and a choice of restaurants. Smart spacious modern room which was well fitted out. Two chairs, desk area, mini-bar and Free WiFi. Very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet had a very wide choice of items and the quality was excellent. Best breakfast of all the hotels we stayed at in Iceland

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor facing east have view of fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneL366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kea by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kea by Keahotels

Property: Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Address: Hafnarstraeti, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kea by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid 20th-century hotel located in the heart of Akureyri, the gateway to the rich natural splendor of northeast Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kea by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kea Hotel Akureyri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing