We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skjaldarvik Guest House & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Ibudir(Akureyri)
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Torg Guesthouse(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$176
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akurinn(Akureyri)
$104
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Akureyri Hostel HI(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
$105
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akureyri Backpackers(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
$117
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$16,122
$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$316
$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveler rating
252
70
12
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
70
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingretirement homehonesty barhot tubicelandic horsesnorthern lightsliving roomlovely guesthouselittle touchesshared bathroomself serveshared facilitiesbreakfast was deliciousfree tea and coffeeskyrextra towelsbeautiful fjord
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 337 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2014

Cannot imagine there's a north European style guesthouse can be so stylish, they dedicate to every details. Space inside of guesthouse is large. If you check in early, must wear your swimming suit to enjoy huge hotbath pool outside, you'll love it.

Don't forget to visit every shower room in level 1 and upstairs. No two of them are the same interior decoration.

I'm so glad we choose

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jesuistina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2014

very nice and funky, lovely room, plenty of bathroom and WC facilities, very friendly and welcoming hosts. loved HOT TUB! amazing.

very comfy lounge.

good food - both dinner and breakfast.

very positive vibes

very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

This was the best accomodation we had in Iceland during our round trip around the island. So, what should I say about this almost perfect guesthouse... The location is quite ideal, if you are traveling by car. Akureyri is just a short drive away, but still the prevailing character of the surroundings is the magnificent nature of Iceland. You can see the fjord, green grasslands and snowcapped mountains all around you.

The staff was really friendly. The young blond receptionist girl was extremely kind and gave us a short but comprehensive tour of the facilities. Next day the receptionist (a young man this time)gave us great tips for the rest of the road trip. Wireless internet was working great. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast buffet was nice, too. On the backyard there is a small hot pool, where you can take a bath with a view (free, of course). There is also the option of horseback riding next to the guesthouse.

The building itself wasn't especially beautiful. Actually, I think it must have been a kind of hospital or a home for the elderly previously, because the rooms were a bit like hospital rooms... But the overall decor breathed warmth and cosiness. It was really easy to believe that the manager genuinely wanted a more humane approach to the tourist business...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The stay at Skjaldarvik was one of the highlights of our entire trip to Iceland. So peaceful and lovely. Normally we would choose a central hotel, with pubs, shops and cultural life within walking distance, but when traveling with children this place was perfect.

We used the hot pot/outdoor warm bath tub a LOT - it was fantastic. We didn't ride horses, but just watching them go by and graze in the area added to a nice atmosphere.

The guest house building is a mix of former institution/hospital/care center and Ikea shabby chique interior. A bit weird, but after all, this is Iceland. :)

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank malebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We usually don't stay at a guesthouse, but we chose this place based on the price and reviews because we found other hotel options to be limited in Akureyri. We were very glad we did. The guesthouse itself is very cute, and much thought has been put into its decor. Rooms are clean, and comfortable enough, albeit small. The only inconvenience we knew about ahead of time was that the bathrooms were shared, but there seemed to be plenty as we never had to wait to take a shower or use the toilets. The bathrooms themselves are equipped with hair dryers and even Q-tips. In the dining room, they offer free coffee and tea all day. Breakfast is fairly basic, but with some nice touches like homemade jams. Dinner (which you can get for an extra charge) was a nice surprise. The food was solid, and they even bake their own bread. Finally, as an added bonus, there is a fairly sizable hot tub with a great view.

One thing to note: If you are sensitive to noise, you may not like it because you can hear noises from the next room, and room doors close with quite a bit of noise, which means you hear whenever somebody is opening and closing their door even in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom.

However, this establishment clearly cares a lot about its guests, and it's definitely worth staying. They seem to have thought of everything. We had a wonderful time.

Tips: The guesthouse is part of a network of Icelandic farm experiences (similar to an agritourismo in Italy), and they offer horseback riding tours, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ykwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews