We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straightforward nordic style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Straightforward nordic style”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

One of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in (and I travel a lot), coupled with extremely friendly, helpful and easygoing personnel. Great place to stay, and also a wonderful location. Not only the room looks beautiful, but also the view from the room, and Akureyri is a charming little town definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallusdomesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    326
    75
    12
    1
See reviews for
97
378
56
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Storås
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I was not altogether impressed by this hotel when I stayed here in October 2013, but I liked it better this time. A very inviting lobby, with a nice bar, a personalized breakfast, friendly staff and a modernly styled room. The location, side by side to the excellent swimming pool, makes the stay even better. One could have wished that internet access was included in the price, and a minibar had been good. Prices are OK, at least in the winter time. Easily recommended!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Torkild35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safetybob
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

we were only here for 2 days -check in was easy-offedupgrades that made sense-very efficent-close to the city -happy hour was fun and very communial. people could not have been nicer-use of public transportion included-

Room Tip: ask where to get on when you go to town -otherwise -a very ong bus ride
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safetybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Icelandair Hotel in Akureyri. This hotel was part of a package we booked with Icelandair. I thought the hotel is in a great location - directly across the street from the community pool and recreation center (which we were able to enjoy as part of our package), a nice (though might be steep for some) walk into the town center, and a short drive to the ski resort.

The room was very nice with more than ample room for two people. There was plenty of surface space for writing and placing books, electronics, etc down, several outlets to charge electronics and there was more than enough storage for suitcases and bags. The bed was very comfortable, and the sheets and pillows were crisp and clean. Many others have mentioned the unusual set up of the room as the shower is not very private (lacking a door or secondary curtain after getting out of the shower), but that was not really an issue for us. If you're traveling with a friend or someone you are not particularly close with, you may find issue with this.

The staff was very friendly and very helpful, providing directions and recommendations as requested. We had issues connecting to their wifi, and they were happy to refund those charges without hesitation.

Breakfast (also included in our package) was plentiful with lots of variety - cereal, cold cuts, make-your-own waffles and more.

We really enjoyed our time in Akureyri. If we are fortunate enough to come back, we will definitely stay at the Icelandair Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelteamSDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed at IH Akureyri for a weekend in January, and I had a great time. I found that the staff was really friendly, and my room was very clean upon arrival. The bed was SO comfortable, and the pillows were amazing. Seriously. I even took out one of the extra ones from the cabinet because they felt so nice. The only thing that was "unfortunate" about the hotel, is that it was at the top of the hill. If you decide to walk into town, downhill is not an issue. But walking back up is a bit difficult, especially in the snow. Everything was quite slippery. That's not their fault though! Just know that location wise, it'll take extra effort for walking by foot. The plus side though? The view. And there is a geothermal pool literally across the street. Hello relaxation before bedtime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Iceland Air Hotel in Akureyri as part of an Iceland Air package to see the Northern Lights this past Thanksgiving and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is very well kept, modern and clean. It was extremely similar to the Natura hotel we stayed at in Reykjavik although had a more rustic touch which was appropriate for the area (more wooden fixtures and a warmer feel). The front desk well-staffed for check-in and were always very helpful in answering questions, giving directions and offering suggestions for restaurants. We had a room on the lower level despite a big push to upgrade it was very large and comfortable – twin beds pushed together in the Euro style to make a queen sized bed but extremely cozy beds and nice linens. We had a wheelchair access room so our bathroom was very large and had no curtain which was not awesome since the floor would get soaking wet after a shower, but the space was nice. The hotel is a short walk down a very large hill to the “downtown” area where all the restaurants and bars are, so it was ultra-convenient. The restaurant for breakfast was decent, although for the price per person if not included in your hotel rate would be rather steep. The room was very quiet and we did enjoy peaceful sleep while we were there. The hotel bar was small but they offer nightly drink specials and we enjoyed the staff at the bar. We felt the value and comfort were very well kept at this location, we enjoyed our stay and would totally come back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrottingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Exellent hotel for wheel chair users. only problem is low wc but rails either side so only slight issue. Hotel only does snack menu . Portions are small so for dinner recommend you go into town.
The hotel is at the top of a 1200 yard steep hill, the restaurants are are at the bottom. you need to be fit to push the chair & this is difficult in snow & ice so taxi is preferable. Most shops & restaurants have steps but there are some (not many) with ramps

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mousers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Property: Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Address: Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Akureyri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri is your comfy base camp to enjoy and experience Iceland's beautiful North. Stay and play in our vibrant Northern capital, with its many shops, restaurants, local events and friendly people. Explore the amazing countryside, full of some of Iceland's most amazing natural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing