We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

On the plus side its very clean, and the staff are friendly. I know people say its central, but in a town of less than 20,000 people that applies to every hotel so is hardly a positive or negative. On the negative side they charge for broadband in your room which considering the price I find to be unacceptable, the restaurant is below average and the rooms are practical but uninspiring.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnluckyTransfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 777 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Beautiful, spectacularly designed and immaculately maintained hotel. Truly a pleasure to stay here in the wonderful city of Akureyri. The reception area was terrific, as it provided both a great place to relax with a drink, free wifi, and some great snack items.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aikandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is located at the top of the town of Akureyri, Iceland. It is also across the street from a geothermal hot springs aquatic pool. We had an amazing time at this hotel. It was close enough to the town that you can bar hop, and still walk back to hotel without issues. The town is very pretty during the holidays. There is a tree lighting ceremony in the town square where we were. The location, the atmosphere, and the food was great at this hotel. I would recommend a visit to the town of Akureyri. Very friendly town with very pleasant, delightful people.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room on the top floor facing the water so that you can overlook the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelia8259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A very nice, modern and new hotel. Swimming pool across the road. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and of reasonable size. Nice reception, where you can sit and use free WIFI, otherwise you need to pay for internet.
Our room on 4th level had an additional door that were linking it with the room next door and we could hear TV - what can be a problem.
Akureyri is a small town and you can get anywhere quite quickly, but a big plus of the hotel is location, 5 minutes to town centre where you can see e.g. the cathedral. Botanical gardens are close by and apparently a must see, however we missed it as the weather conditions were not that great and we were travelling back to the south so did not want to risk any roads closures or icy conditions. The roads however are easier to drive from Akureyri to Reykjavik on the west side than from Egilsstadir to Akureyri through mountains (in snow storm).
Generally, I would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gosia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed two nights here while searching for the Northern lights. The hotel is neat and clean and an easy walk into town to shop and eat. Wifi is free in the lobby, so don't spend your money on the room upgrade. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRDchelseafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is really neat! Clean, nice and modern rooms. Very close to town, and easy walk. Facilities and amenities are fair for the price and location. The staff and service are also good. There are not many options here and this is probably one of the best. Stay there for one night. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrún J, General Manager at Icelandair Hotel Akureyri, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Carlos
Thank you for taking time to send us your thoughts about our hotel, it is highly valued.
I do hope that you will set your trails back to Iceland in the summer time and experience the north in 24 hours daylight, It is really worth the visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a short stay here.
The rooms were modern and clean and contained everything you need for a short trip.
Free wifi in public areas and a mac for free use in reception.
Enjoy your free welcome drink and free ticket to the swimming pool across the road. 5 min walk to town centre. Ample car parking. Good hearty breakfast. Friendly staff. Credit cards accepted.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrún J, General Manager at Icelandair Hotel Akureyri, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Claire R
Thank you for taking time for reviewing our hotel. I was very glad to read it. The ,,experience the arctic " package is really good value - with the added bonus of a free welcome drink and entrance to the local municipal pool.
I just hope that you will visit us again in the future and experience the midnight sun also.
Warmest regards from up north

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Address: Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range: $107 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Akureyri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri is your comfy base camp to enjoy and experience Iceland's beautiful North. Stay and play in our vibrant Northern capital, with its many shops, restaurants, local events and friendly people. Explore the amazing countryside, full of some of Iceland's most amazing natural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing