We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of an Iceland Guest full circle tour. Great property with a really nice lobby, clean rooms, good beds and pillows (good pillows have been a problem at other places we stayed in Iceland). One note about the location, it is up a VERY STEEP hill from the waterfront and main tourist area in town so if you have a problem walking up and down hills consider staying somewhere closer to the water. There is a little store in the lobby and a really nice courtyard. See photos.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor water view room, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biotechwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 771 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location was good, walking distance to the church, the heated swimming pool and park as well as the downtown harbor. The restaurant (dinner) was quite good and a bit pricey. Free access to internet computer in the lobby.

Room Tip: The higher level floors offer a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taxtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was the first hotel that had non-sulphur smelling hot water that we had stayed in in Iceland.
Clean - we came back on day 2 of our stay to find several young women cleaning the corridor walls with little bits of cloth to remove the marks made by suitcases.
Like the way the corridor lights only came on when you left the room.
Room design with shower separate from toilet and sink was a really good idea.
Most comfortable beds and bedding.
Happy hour in the bar 16:00-18:00 - very welcome after a day out exploring the wonders of Iceland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel on our ring road tour. The hotel is very stylish, clean and cozy. The room was a bit small but comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The bar has a small terrace where you can enjoy your drinks and warm up with sheep hides. There is a happy our in the bar in early evening so you get two drinks for the price of one.
The hotel is close to restaurant, bars and shops. Free parking and free wifi in bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable hotel. High quality fittings, love the interior decoration and friendly staff. Large flat screen TV and good hair dryer. Well designed and appointed. Close to restaurants. Restaurant, good service and excellent food although rather expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maz793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is probably one of the nicer ones in Iceland. The room was very aesthetic and price was ok for the kind of room you get. The location is really good and the rooms have TVs inside them. Overall a pleasing experience to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hubbleflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very elegant, appealing design for both rooms and the lobby, which easily tempts you to sit a while and take a drink (generous bar snacks, by the way). However, rooms are rather on the smaller side and if you lay on the bed you could pretty much hold hands with the person sitting on the toilet! There is just a sliding (though frosted) glass door to the bathroom so it really isn't very private. Comfortable beds and duvets. You can walk into town easily and the swimming baths are next door. Felt it was a little on the expensive side but still one of the more appealing hotels of our stay. Ate in the the restaurant and the food and service was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikiBoyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
37 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Address: Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range: $107 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Akureyri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri is your comfy base camp to enjoy and experience Iceland's beautiful North. Stay and play in our vibrant Northern capital, with its many shops, restaurants, local events and friendly people. Explore the amazing countryside, full of some of Iceland's most amazing natural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing